We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New American Style withe French techniques at Newton's Table” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newton's Table

Newton's Table
4917 Elm Street, Bethesda, MD 20814
(301) 718-0550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Newton's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 307 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Woodmont and Arlington
Transit: We are two blocks from the Bethesda Metro Station, on the Red Line.
Description: Newton's Table, a new restaurant by Chef Dennis Friedman, is the latest addition to downtown Bethesda featuring contemporary American cuisine. Renovations are almost finished and opening is slated for early April.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New American Style withe French techniques at Newton's Table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our party of four had a fantastic dinner at Newton's Table in Bethesda. The Chef/Owner, Dennis Friedman, does a "new American" style of cooking in which French techniques are applied, often with an Asian style. Among the dishes we enjoyed was "Fuzu," a rice noodle dish which included chicken, scallops, and shrimp, among other ingredients.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a business lunch at Newton's Table & throughly enjoyed the food & service. Nice addition to the Bethesda options. Had the lunch seafood catch of the day - salmon on spaetzel with some spinach - fantastic. Also had the Thai soup as an appetizer - yummy. Looking forward to trying other dishes. Decor is nothing special, but not a big item on my list. Service was efficient & friendly (room was about 1./2 full on this rainy day).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The fish here is excellent. The place is quiet, which is a "find" in this neighborhood. It's not inexpensive. Good wine list. Nice service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Perhaps we were being a bit optimistic to visit any restaurant in the post festive period, but any restaurant worth it's salt,should be consistent, and if this is consistency,then do not go there.
Having reserved three weeks earlier,the table we were given was unattractive, in a clinically unattractive decor, with disinterested staff, not ideal ingredients! And there was only one other table occupied.
The meal was in the OK bracket, nicely cooked and nicely presented though the saffron rice with the Nigella Tuna was absolutely stone cold - when I left it,I would have hoped any conscientious staff member would have enquired "why" - not so here!
And when we left, nobody could bother to say "good night" - they could not wait for us to leave so they could close....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The menu is amazing. We really look forward to going back and trying more items. All the dishes were extremely flavorful. The only reason I didn't give the food 5 stars is because I did not really enjoy my duck entree (specifically, it was too under-cooked for my taste, and the spring roll of duck confit was too densely duck). The bread, salad, veges. accompanying my entree, and dessert were outstanding, as were my husband's. We also were impressed with the care in presentation of all the items. We appreciated too that the tables are not too close together, so you don't feel invaded by strangers. Service was fine. Overall, we are very happy to have found this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newton's Table also viewed

 

Been to Newton's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.