We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vapiano - CLOSED

Vapiano
4900 Hampden Lane, Bethesda, MD
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm a big fan of Vapiano. However, the last time I was there I had a terrible experience (Bethesda). The chef was unfriendly and rude. He didn't have the pasta my husband wanted to eat, and it was o.k, but the pasta we finally ordered, was undercooked and awful.
I had a bad experience that day, but was my first time in Bethesda. I use to go to other locations and it has been great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We start out looking for a great place to dine..... The wife and i loved it a very chilled spot for drinks and a great meal can't wait to head back... A great atmosphere and not hard on the pockets a meal for two with drinks and desert was about $44.00 not bad at all

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Bethesda was in need of an Italian kitchen during the past few years, and Vapiano recently came to the rescue. This well-situated, cozy, and inviting restaurant offers the best Italian cuisine available in all of Bethesda, along with wonderful service personnel.

Vapiano’s modern and casual dining experience brings you irresistible food. Your average Bethesda pizza house offers fast food bombs, while Vapiano takes pride in the food it makes. Your mouth will water as you watch the talented chefs prepare your own pizza, a wonderful aroma spreading in all directions. You have the choice of margherita, roasted tomato and garlic, ruccola, salame, and many more kinds of pizzas. For those who are not in the mood for pizza, one of the unique 20 salad types will also satisfy your hunger. Maybe pasta will do the trick? Aside from the short waiting time it takes for your meal, the excellent trio of pizza, salad, and pasta makes for a fresh and healthy combination.

A restaurant can have stunning and awe-inspiring food, but without good service, it will not attract as many customers. Vapiano servers get an A+, for being helpful and kind, and also for letting you have your time and space to eat. A host or hostess will greet you upon arriving at the restaurant and explain how to use a “chip card”, which you use whenever you wish to order food by swiping at the pizza, salad, or pasta bars. There are no waiters or waitresses to collect your orders. Instead, Vapiano gives you the freedom of exploring your meal options. It is easy to start conversations with the experienced and polite chefs, who fulfill your wishes as if they mean the world to them. The great employees, who do the best to make your meal as enjoyable as possible, are as important to Vapiano as the food.

Normally, people have to plan a trip to Rome to come close to Italian delicacies. But Vapiano is located in the heart of Bethesda. In addition there are 70 more worldwide Vapiano locations and 100 soon to be developed in the United States, Europe, and Middle East. The bright colorful lights and modern furniture fit well to Bethesda. When you call a half hour before, Vapiano offers ready to go pick up of any meal on the menu, and it is easily accessible to visit. Being only a few minutes away from the Crescent Trail, some may even walk or bike to Vapiano. Whatever the case, the brilliant location is convenient to visit for those of Bethesda and surrounding areas.

Once you take your first bite and slowly close your eyes, you will feel a rush of emotions shooting ecstatically around in your body. When your eyes open again, you will be sitting in a small restaurant in Rome. The exclusive European dining experience of Vapiano brings something new to Bethesda. Healthy and delicious food freshly made at your request, unbeatable service and commitment by the chefs, and the suitable location of Vapiano provide an unforgettable experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Since the first tome I had lunch there I knew I will definetely come back. Dinner or lunch is just great. It is a very clean and casual place, food is really well done and pizzas are as if I was in Italy.
Great experience.
Music is well chosen!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very convenient system for a group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have been to Vapiano's twice with a group for a happy hour. You get your own card by the door and scan each time you buy something and pay the total when you leave.
The carpaccio is really good! Very tender meat, melts on your tongue. Although I would have preferred pine nuts on the meat in stead of mushrooms.
I also liked the bruschietta and the fact that they have Grolsch beer :). The Greek salad was a little meh (too many different ingredients, a Greek salad is supposed to be simple), but luckily they put a lot of feta on it, which makes up for a lot :)
My friend had the pumpkin soup and was not impressed.
Overall I would recommend Vapiano if you are with a group. Do not go here for romantic dates or something, because you are not waited on at the table, so you have to stand up all the time. And each having a separate card is also not so romantic I guess.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vapiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.