We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kabob Bazaar

Kabob Bazaar
7710 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3522
301-652-5814
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kabob Bazaar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 296 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Norfolk Street
Transit: One block from Bethesda Metro station
California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Very good food, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The kabobs we ordered were very good. The bread was a little disappointing, since other reviewers really raved about the bread. It was a little dry. The prices were very good. The service was pretty bad, though. We felt ignored and it took forever to get our check. I never understand why restaurants do this.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    29
    24
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Place or a Great Meal and Dirt Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Five of us had a great mideastern dinner here and the bill including drinks with tip was around $100. We walked out stuffed.

The chicken and beef kabobs were top-notch and the Ash-E-Reshteh soup was excellent.

Highly recommend. I'll go back in a second.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“loved chicken thigh kabob...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had dinner at Kabob Bazaar last week and it was delicious. I had one lamb kabob and one chicken thigh kabob.....I loved that they offered a thigh kabob....seems like everywhere you go it is always a chicken breast and only occasionally a half of a chicken.....both were very good but the chicken was the best....maybe the best chicken I have had in a restaurant. The rice was tdf....so good. And our waiter was really nice and there when you wanted him to be there. My husband had a salmon kabob which was cooked just right....not over done.....and our daughter had a chicken breast kabob and lamb kabob. Very good bread too. We'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Second time round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Yesterday was our second visit to Kabob Bazaar. Both times have been for lunch and we've come away very happy. The Kabobs are delicious and we had enough to get two meals out of their portions. My husband had the lamb soltani and I had the chicken soltani. Both were succulent, cooked to perfection, served with rice. I love the yogurt/mint sauce with kabobs and there was plenty left over from the salad/bread appetizer that comes with a meal. That's a nice touch and much appreciated but beware of eating too much: entree portions are very generous. I also had a hot Persian Tea which was equally delicious. We have quite a few Persian/Iranian restaurants in our area but this is definitely the best. The service is usually impeccable, although yesterday our waiter made us feel a little bashful that a)we were using a coupon and b) it was really only valid for dinner (note to self to read the small print). He let us get away with it but a little condescendingly. Why do restaurants offer Groupons/coupons if they make patrons feel awkward? We're giving full marks as apart from the comment above, we love coming to this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good food !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We found this restaurant on tripadvisor, we had dinner, the staff was really good and the food was very good too !! But I'm not sure if the restaurant deserves the first place in the area !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabob Bazaar also viewed

 

Been to Kabob Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kabob Bazaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.