We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great dinner experience. The food, drink, dessert very good. Pricier than expected. Long wait for food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Food Wine and Co.

Food Wine and Co.
7272 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
13016528008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Food Wine and Co. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 288 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: French, American, Contemporary, Bistro, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Bethesda Metro
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great dinner experience. The food, drink, dessert very good. Pricier than expected. Long wait for food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the food and experience very much. Wine and beer, appetizers especially fish/raw bar really good. Menu has something for everyone. I see why foodies like. The scallop and mussel dishes very popular. But the burger and pizza were great too. Long wait in between courses snd pricey when drinks added. But the chocolate bread pudding w cognac syrup was incredible! Will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    84
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely lunchtime experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was a last minute choice but a good one. The three of us all enjoyed our choices, the presentation was fab and the food very well prepared. The portions however were on the small side for the prices charged. I am not a big eater but found the portion of diver scallops to be almost appetizer size - even a bit more salad would have made the dish more complete. It was absolutely delicious & the flavors melded perfectly. Next time I must remember to order an appetizer before the main.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Save room for dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Forget the negative reviews! If you like fabulous food, drink and a nice atmosphere, this is the place for you! I will admit that I only had 2 appetizers (edamame- best ever! And fried artichoke hearts with some fabulous sauce) but that gave me room for dessert...the dark chocolate brioche bread pudding with cognac sauce!!!!!! Heavenly! Thanks to a lovely bartender that gave me excellent beer recommendations, I had a wonderful dining experience! Yes, it is pricier than the basic, boring chain restaurant butthere is a reason for that. The chef is creating culinary works of art! And, as a beer snob, I would highly recommend their beer list...don't be thrown off by the name. It is not excessively loud, or pretentious...it is divine!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Though noisy atmosphere, an enjoyable evening.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Seating was quick though service was a bit slow on this busy evening. Heirloom pizza good, calamari appetizer was made excellent with sauce. Wide variety of beers made selection of beverage difficult; bartender came to rescue. Unusually busy evening caused significant amount of noise in the room.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchton, Maryland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just had lunch at this place (new to me in Bethesda; I don't know how long it's been there. I ordered a diver scallop salad. The scallops were about the size of four quarters, stacked -- no exaggeration. That they were so thin must be the explanation for why they were so overcooked. There were five. There was no point in even cutting them in half. Then pretty basic salad greens and some nuts. $19. The waiter was not attentive and didn't get our order right. I couldn't get his attention to get another drink. But the busboys, who are not making much, WERE paying attention. I wanted my tip to go to them. I'll know better next time. ANd I'll go elsewhere. Won't be trying here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Wine and Co. also viewed

 

Been to Food Wine and Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Food Wine and Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.