We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Provence

Bistro Provence
4933 Fairmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-8014
301-656-7373
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: New French restaurant run by chef Yannick Cam.
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent and enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a very nice business dinner here with a group of 5. Nice range of selections but not overwhelming. Service was nicely paced - not too slow, not too fast. I enjoyed a nice arugula, anchovies and Parmesan salad and a very good Provence flavored bouillabaisse. I would definitely enjoy a chance to visit again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    15
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding outdoor dining area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Without a doubt this is the best place for French food in Bethesda. Their patio was a pleasant surprise - it has a lovely array of plants and is reasonably quiet. The service was relaxed, which I think helps keep this place free from a stuffy feeling, however it could have been more attentive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pity about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had a reservation for 4 people at 8 pm and sat outside on the patio. Slow service but the food was certainly very good, tasty and imaginatively served. How sad then that by 9.15 the staff were noisily clearing tables all around us and then swiftly removed our plates in turn as soon as each of us finished! It was obvious that the staff wanted to close up and go home on what was I suppose a slow night and as a consequence the atmosphere on what should have been a celebratory evening was pretty dire. When we left - feeling very badly treated by what is fundamentally a quality restaurant - it was still only 9.45! There is no excuse for that sort of treatment of paying customers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food marred by poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were a table of 8, gathered on a warm evening and ready to enjoy a fine dining experience. It's a good thing we had lots to talk about, because while the food was excellent, it took an unbelievably long time to get to the table. The waiter apologized and said they were short-handed in the kitchen, but this really tested the limits of our patience. We waited nearly an hour to get our appetizers, and then another hour to get our entrees. By the time we were done, we were too tired for dessert! I'd be willing to give Bistro Provence another try, based on the quality of the food, but unless the staff can up the tempo, we won't make this a regular stop when we're in the DC area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent French cuisine in attractive garden setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Food is still wonderful after an absence of many months. Heirloom tomato salad was a very tasty first course as was the evening's "special" of "Lobster Purses," ravioli-like chunks of lobster meat wrapped in pastry and sauteed. We also enjoyed the Bouillbaisse that had lots of tasty seafood (scallops were especially succulent) and sauteed monkfish with delicious oyster mushrooms. The dessert offerings were pretty typical, but ours were very flavorful: lemon tart and apple tarte Tatin. Even the regular coffee was unusually powerful and flavorful for restaurant coffee.
Service, as before, was knowledgeable, friendly but SLOW.
As usual, we preferred to eat in the pleasant garden patio, which is graced with pots of plants and covered with a huge awning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Provence also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Provence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.