We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yamas Mediterranean Grill

Yamas Mediterranean Grill
4806 Rugby Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814
301-312-8384
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #103 of 292 restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small but Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Everything at Yamas is great- salads, burgers and traditional mediterranean fare. Cute little tables outside,and inside is homey as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    13
    20
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Judsonia, AR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Always stop in when I'm here every month. Great food and atmosphere. I have traveled to three islands in Greece and it is really close. You want to experience Grecian cuisine try it out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't go on a Saturday night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just returned home after walking out of this place. Yes, it's Saturday night and yes, they were busy. But I ordered a gyro (see 11/5 review) and was truly looking forward to it being as good as the one I had a few months ago. The gyro meat is carved off a vertical spit and put in pita with tomatoes and onions. A half hour later, still no gyro. People elsewhere being served, some who came in after us. Perhaps it was our server. But 30 minutes for a gyro is unacceptable. Unrelated to the irritating delay, the place was puzzlingly warm. It was a cold night but I first removed my sweater, then my long sleeved shirt, and I still felt uncomfortable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Standby with Great Greek Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

When in Bethesda with guests new to the area, I always take them to Yamas for lunch and they're never disappointed. I've been patronizing the restaurant since it opened and have had just about everything on the menu. My faves include the moussaka (best I've ever had!), the kids' sliders, 3-veggie combo, spanikopita, salads, lentil soup...the list goes on. Their new pizzas are delicious too! We often order take-out and it's true - their online ordering stinks, so just call instead.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Affordable Greek Food in Bethesda!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you are looking for great tasting food at an affordable price in Bethesda, then you must try Yamas Mediteranean Grill. The gyro is my usual staple at Yamas but today I had the rice bowl with pork souvlaki for lunch and it was excellent. I did start off with the Yamas Fries, french fries with feta cheese, and it was awesome. Every time I walk out of Yamas very satisfied with money left in my wallet. You can not beat that combination!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamas Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Yamas Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamas Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.