We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good - some staff members could do better though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DC Sightseeing Package
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Stirling
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good - some staff members could do better though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a week, since my partner was working in Bethesda for a few days. I was free to explore DC and the wider area :-)

The hotel ticked all of the main boxes - it was very clean, reasonably priced, modern, and the beds were very comfortable. Air con in the room worked well (given that it was so hot outside), and the maid and restaurant staff were brilliant. The hotel is only 5 minutes from the Bethesda Metro stop, and so has easy access in to DC, as it only takes 20 minutes or so to get to Union Station, right next to the Capitol.

Some of the reception staff were not particularly interested when you were standing waiting for assistance, and could do with a refresher course in customer service. Don't get me wrong - they weren't rude, just not that interested and welcoming.

Overall, a good place to stay. Bar and restaurant were good, room service less so.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    195
    43
    8
    8
See reviews for
131
85
30
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

My daughter and I stayed here while searching for an apartment for her to live. We stayed 3 nights. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. It was very quiet except the last night when a neighboring room had a child throwing a tantrum. (one of those exceptions) The hotel is in a great location - close to a Metro station and just a couple blocks from a great selection of restaurants and shopping. Our stay included breakfast in the morning which was a very nice buffet with both hot and cold choices. The wait staff in the breakfast area were friendly but needed to work on their efficiency a bit - little slow clearing tables. We also used the business center to print our boarding passes and tickets to a Nationals Game - really handy! I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Got my reservation thru expedia thinking that breakfast was included but was surprised that the hotel would not honor it. After calling expedia, was told that they would refund breakfast expenses & just to forward the receipt to them. Called expedia back after the trip to find out where to send the receipts & was told that Hilton was supposed to reimburse it. The trip was back in June & up to now haven't seen any refunds yet. Both Hilton Garden Inn & Expedia won't take any responsibility. Tried to get call expedia again but was put on hold for 45min & can't even get to talk to a manager. Just something to keep in mind.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

All Hilton properties near the DC location that I was working were booked at late notice, so this was the next best thing. The commute took a while, but this hotel was a nice property, with a Sainsbury's and a McDonalds and several other restaurants in walking distance.
I liked the HD TV, covered parking, free wireless internet and relative quiet - no rowdy guests or groups of kids. It was a good, productive stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Hotel employees very friendly, helpful & accommodating. The room was spacious and clean; had refrigerator & microwave. Location was great, only one block from Metro station which we appreciated since we came from airport and had to tow two rolling luggage bags each. In walking distance of shops, grocery store, pharmacy, dining options galore. Hotel gave us map with information on how to locate restaurants, shops all within walking distance. Baked cookies were at the front desk every day. Appreciated use of computer room and printer since we didn't have our own laptop. Only downside would be the adjustable bed; it was comfortable, but too hot from body heat (thanks goodness the A/C was available). Access to Metro was excellent, but rather busy during rush hours.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We spent a fabulous Wedding Weekend with extended family and friends. We hosted the Rehearsal Dinner here beginning with Wine & Cheese in the Montgomery Room, finishing with a Buffet Dinner in the Bethesda Chevy Chase Room. The staff was INCREDIBLE. Very accommodating, attentive, and gracious! Hats off to Ahmad, Errol and their staff! They could not have been more helpful. The Room looked beautiful with gorgeous high-quality tablecloths, and the food was delicious and well-presented! The staff couldn't do enough for us throughout our entire stay. Everything you could want to create a memorable wedding weekend. Thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

I was on a last minute excursion to the Bethesda area when I realized I needed a quiet place to rest my head. As a HiltonHonors member, I immediately placed a call to their reservation desk and they advised of their Bethesda location. It was a great choice and it's close to so many things.. (Did I mention I really liked this hotel) It's located near the Metro stop so it's very convenient to hop on and go where you need to.
The room was very clean and nicely furnished. I would recommend a corner room because it was very spacious. The Downstairs bar made excellent drinks and were open pretty late. Can't get any better for someone who made a last minute stop.

The only real negative has to do with the lack of front check-in area.. (is that really negative). You basically have to park your car in front of the hotel... check-in and then park your car. (You're literally parked in the street with hazard lights on..)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Address: 7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic, sexy, and entirely new downtown Bethesda hotel near the Metro. The Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda. Only one block from the Bethesda Metrorail station and two miles outside Washington DC. Step inside and soak up an ambiance equally abuzz with urban energy. Adorned in glass, with artful lighting and sleek lines, the airy two-story lobby offers an inspiring alternative to the typical Bethesda hotels near the Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Bethesda Hotel Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.