We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but tired/dated rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DC Sightseeing Package
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great location but tired/dated rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

There were some nice features to this hotel - easy parking, friendly front desk staff, a welcome bag upon arrival with bottled water and snacks, and a great location in downtown Bethesda.

Unfortunately the room smelled like a fragrance had been sprayed to cover up a musty odor. Also, the furnishings themselves looked a little tired/dated, and I could hear some street noise. Overall, I didn't have a terrible experience, but I am not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    216
    49
    10
    8
See reviews for
148
90
33
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Loved this hotel. Very close to the train so I could walk. Love the fireplace in the lobby where I waited with my book for my ride. Business center very convenient and the room itself was extremely inviting and comfortable. I recommended this to my family for future stays bc my siser's house is too small for all of us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

the location of this Hilton is great however i did not get good service. esspecially when it came to parking. I was talked to badly as the garage was under contsruction and the key to let u in and out did not work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great location in Bethesda: couple minute walk to Metro station and few minute walk to the main drag with a dozen or so restaurants.

I appreciate the friendliness of the hotel staff and how welcoming they are of their guests.

While the price was definitely right, but I was turned off by two key factors: the overwhelming musty smell in my room and the fact that I could hear (clearly) the conversations of the folks in rooms to either side of me. If my stay had been more than one night, I would've called to inquire about switching to a different room.

I appreciate that the manager followed up with my after my stay. The excellent location combine with the great rates will likely lead to me giving this Garden Inn another shot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The OC, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed in Bethesda this past fall for a business trip: I'm an IT guy, and we needed to update a bunch of computers in our Bethesda office. Being only 4 blocks away, it was a great choice.

The things that most impressed me were the cleanliness, the service, and the location. The hotel is only a block from the main drag in Bethesda, Wisconsin Ave. There are over 200 restaurants within walking distance, and my only regret is that I did not have enough time to try them all. It was convenient enough to eat breakfast in the hotel, which was a bit pricey, but very well done and tasty. They had everything you wanted at the breakfast buffet: Eggs, breakfast meats, waffle station, potatoes, cereal, yogurt, bagels, and a choice of juices. I was able to load up on carbs for my long days in the office.

The hotel is only two blocks from the metro stop, so you can take the Metro into DC if needed. As mentioned, you can walk to dozens of restaurants, which we did. If I were to come back for a vacation, I think I'd stay in Bethesda and take the Metro into town to see the sights, then come back to Bethesda for dinner.

All contacts with the staff were excellent, and our needs were taken care of. They even held my luggage on my last day of work, so I was able to get some work done at the office, then come back and pick up my luggage and meet my shuttle for the airport. Well done, one and all!

Room Tip: Very little street noise, so no worries about room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanelle L, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear DisneyKahuna,

Thank you so much for your kind remarks and sharing your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda. We really appreciate your in depth comments.

The Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda has one of the largest buffets in the Bethesda area. In addition to the food offered on the buffet, cooked-to-order items such as omelets, breakfast sandwiches, and french toast are also available and included in the price of the buffet.

We have a great package that would be perfect for your DC tour trip. Book our DC Sightseeing package which includes Big Bus tour tickets, metro passes, and more for your vacation getaway. Please feel free to contact me directly with assistance.

We look forward to your return to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Chanelle Laws
wasbt-ds@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fincastle, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stay at a lot of hotels and the devil is in the details. Whether it's a noisy room, a carpet stain, a loose shower fitting or some other tiny thing that leaves an impression that folks are not paying attention to the customers or the facility - I have not found that here. The staff are pleaseant, the rooms are darn near perfect and the breakfast bar is well appointed and clean. It's quiet and just steps away from the metro and great restaurants. You just can't beat this hotel for value, service and convienence.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanelle L, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for your much appreciated comments. The Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda staff works hard to consistently provide our guests above and beyond service. I am so happy to hear that we were able to meet those expectations during your stays with us.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return.

Chanelle Laws
wasbt_ds@hitlon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Spent a week here on business. The staff are excellent. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Location is 3 blocks from metro. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. For 150 a night I was very pleased. I've tried to stay here other times and the prices were alot higher and I didn't feel it was worth it. But if you can get a good price under 200-- you will be very pleased.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanelle L, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Carbonbeing:

Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your recent stay. I am so glad that we was able to have you as our guest. We look forward to your return in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly for assistance with future reservations.

Best regards,
Chanelle Laws
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Address: 7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic, sexy, and entirely new downtown Bethesda hotel near the Metro. The Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda. Only one block from the Bethesda Metrorail station and two miles outside Washington DC. Step inside and soak up an ambiance equally abuzz with urban energy. Adorned in glass, with artful lighting and sleek lines, the airy two-story lobby offers an inspiring alternative to the typical Bethesda hotels near the Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Bethesda Hotel Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.