We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Deal
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Picked this hotel for a student trip/competition due to price and location. It is about a 2 block walk to the metro which is not bad. Hotel itself was very clean and pleasant. Pool was small but was not busy. Iced lemon water and iced tea in the lobby, along with breakfast items in the morning, nice touch. Room service food was very good with large portions. Breakfast buffet in the restaurant was tolerable but not great and probably not worth the cost. I used the business office in the lobby a few times to print things (free). We were disappointed that the bar was not open past 10 p.m., but apparently in Maryland a bar cannot stay open after 10 unless it serves food, and the hotel bar does not. Overall good value though and no real complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    175
    39
    6
    8
See reviews for
118
75
26
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
gurnee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was a return visit after 3 years. The hotel is very well maintained; clean and updated. Staff is attentive and friendly. Walking distance to metro station and dining/shopping options. Pool is on the smaller size.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is in a good location. Walkable distance to many cute restaurants and small shops. The hotel is very accommodating to travelers in terms of services offered. Free WiFi and a Starbucks in the lobby. Parking is extra but on weekends they readily direct you to the free lot across the street. Very friendly and professional service staff from the parking attendants to the front desk. Rooms are exceptionally clean and well appointed. A very good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great hotel in excellent location for a visit to DC. You can hop the Metro into the downtown core or even just drive down Conn. or Wisc. if you have your car. In and out parking is inexpensive and convenient. You can walk to excellent restaurants, bars and even a movie theater. You are also close to Friendship Village, Chevy Chase shopping area...one stop away on Metro. Convenient to beltway, suburbs and city. Hotel is excellent, quiet, clean and comfortable, with all amenities that make American hotels so terrific...free internet, coffee in room, kitchenette, plenty of snacks to buy to microwave, etc.
However, when trying to book another Hilton property, I couldn't get any co-operation from the desk folks...seems these hotels are independent of one another, so there's no sense of continuity (except for design) and you're pretty much on your own, even though they tout loyalty!

Room Tip: We were told to ask for a front facing room. They placed us on a high floor, overlooking a charming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We're regular visitors to Bethesda. This is our new favorite: price competitive, close to the Metro, helpful, swiftly responsive staff, and (here's the tie-breaker) a FRIDGE in the room. Welcoming lobby always has free beverages on offer: coffee in the morning, lemonade or water at other times. Sometimes cookies. Large, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The climate control units at this location are motion activated. This is a bit silly given how hot it is during this time of the year. Walking in from the hallway to a room that is hotter and more humid than the hallway or the lobby is not accommodating at all. Frankly, it was terrible. We were not told that the air conditioning was activated this way at check in which we should have been. My wife and I both lost a good amount of sleep tossing and turning the first night (not under the blankets or sheets!) because the air conditioning kept turning off due to our lack of movement while were sleeping. We should have been told about this at check in. The next day we called down to ask if the unit was working properly and we were informed about the motion sensor issue. The maintanance man came up and turned the sensor off, and also told us that the unit would NOT get the room as cool as we wanted, and that if we tried to get it to do so it would "lock up and blow hot air". I appreciated his candor, but found myself wanting the old fashioned air conditioning units from motels/hotels of old. While noisy, they kept running and kept the room cool. And the noise they made covered up the noise of the people around you closing their doors loudly. I really shouldn't have to take a fan with me in order to cover the hallway noise and to keep the air in the room moving and cool. To be honest, I would very seriously consider NOT visiting this brand again because of this issue. There are enough other hotels in Bethesda that have far more acceptable climate control systems.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here for five nights with two weekend trips in the last month. Very pleased with the stays and highly recommend. Great location for visiting DC. It is two blocks from the Bethesda Metro station and a short walk to great dining options in the Bethesda Row area.

The rooms we stayed in were similar to other HGIs we have visited. Decent size, very clean and have a fridge and microwave. Air conditioning and wi-fi worked fine and we never had any noise issues. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet which was complimentary due to Hilton Honors Gold status. Also enjoyed the complimentary lemonade, cookies and popcorn that was available in the lobby.

Another bonus is that the Waverly Garage is only a block away and it has free parking from 10pm Friday night to 7am Monday morning (also holidays).

I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Address: 7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic, sexy, and entirely new downtown Bethesda hotel near the Metro. The Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda. Only one block from the Bethesda Metrorail station and two miles outside Washington DC. Step inside and soak up an ambiance equally abuzz with urban energy. Adorned in glass, with artful lighting and sleek lines, the airy two-story lobby offers an inspiring alternative to the typical Bethesda hotels near the Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Bethesda Hotel Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.