We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, minus the heat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Deal
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Binghamton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, minus the heat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here for the Cherry Blossom Festival and found the accommodations to be excellent. Our room had a microwave and refrigerator and was roomy. We did use the hot tub a couple of times and were able to relax and enjoy our stay. The only thing we found uncomfortable was the thermostat. The thermostats are equipped with a sensor that detects movement and shuts off when it thinks no one is in the room. Due to this, at night the heat shot up because our lower heat setting did not stick and we woke up sweating. This got to be quite annoying as we stayed 3 nights and are from NY where it is still quite cool and we are not used to sleeping in the heat like that, at least not this early in the spring. One thing I look forward to in a hotel is the AC!

On a positive note, the staff was friendly and attentive and the beds are adjustable when it comes to firmness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    175
    34
    7
    7
See reviews for
114
74
26
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was at a wedding in DC last weekend, and we had a large block of rooms at this hotel. I was very satisfied with the hotel. It was a quick walk from the metro and many great restaurants. There was a convenience store in the lobby which has everything you may have forgotten. We brought the wedding party back to our room afterwards which they had no problem with, save for a single noise complaint. My only strikes against this hotel was that the breakfast was pretty poor, and the pillows were bad for my neck. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for four nights - overall, an enjoyable experience. The staff were very pleasant and always had a smile. Rooms are extremely quiet and the shower head is a decent height ! I didn't have to bend way over to get my head wet (I'm only 5'11"). Within a 5 minute walk, there are lots of restaurants with just about every cuisine you could want. Only minor issue I experienced was breakfast in the restaurant. One morning, I went down at 6:35am and they were not open yet, even though they were supposed to open at 6:30am. The other issue was the breakfast sandwich which they had on display as their special. It looked delicious, so I ordered one. Unfortunately, my sandwich was about 1/3 the size of the one they had on display ! Again, these were only minor issues and would not keep me from coming back and staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a happy family vent which took s to DC, Wanting to be close to the Bethesda area we checked into the Hilton Gardens.

Our AC wasn't working. Two very capable technicians showed up immediately and repaired it but
We didn't understand why they didn't offer us a different room during the repair.

We did stay a second night... Coffee never replaced in room.

Very comfortable, but n the $200 per night range... The attention to detail fell short,

Very comfortable and clean... The staff was very accommodating but the price was on the high side.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I lived in and around DC for ten years during the late 80's - mid 90s, including Bethesda. Stayed at the this hotel due to its ease of getting on/off the Beltway as well as proximity to a wedding in NW DC. The area is *completely* different than when I lived there -- in mostly a good way. A "Restaurant Row" is within a few blocks (a foodie might be surprised there's a Jaleo there) the Metro's Red line is nearby, and hotel amenities are good with an indoor pool and parking attached to the hotel, and it was nice to have unlimited in/out privileges. Check online for a package that includes parking, as otherwise an extra 15.00 a day. Beds are the only odd thing -- you'll either love or hate the fact you can "dial" the firmness of the mattress up or down. Overall, needing to get to NW and downtown DC as well as Vienna, VA and areas around Bethesda, this was perfect for us whether or not we were driving or taking Metro. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I love a hotel when I am on the road and get some exercise in outside! Just blocks from paved trail system that goes through city and out to residental neighborhoods. (You can pick it up next to Barnes and Noble). Great dining choices just steps out the front door. Grocery store is just 3 blocks down if you are staying the week and need to stock the fridge.

Service was excellent. Very happy with my 4 night stay. There is a $15 parking per day charge - I saw security almost every time in the garage so felt comfortable even in the early morning hours.

**This hotel does have a fitness center but it is very small and not well ventilated. Two treadmills and one ellipitical make early am workouts tough because there was a line the morning I did go in and it was SO HOT. Fitness wipes or sanitary spray were not available for the machines so I wanted to not touch anything. Indoor pool also available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andros
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well visited downtown Hilton Garden Inn of Bethesda. Seemed fairly busy but still quiet at night. Ordered room service but they called back and were out of one of the dining options. Bed was comfy but the blanket/comforter was very light and kind of scratchy. We prefer a fluffy comforter.

All in all not a bad one night stay for an overnight business trip in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Address: 7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#1 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic, sexy, and entirely new downtown Bethesda hotel near the Metro. The Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda. Only one block from the Bethesda Metrorail station and two miles outside Washington DC. Step inside and soak up an ambiance equally abuzz with urban energy. Adorned in glass, with artful lighting and sleek lines, the airy two-story lobby offers an inspiring alternative to the typical Bethesda hotels near the Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Bethesda Hotel Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.