We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay near DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Deal
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Bethesda
Yorktown, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay near DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Over all a great stay. Close to Metro for easy access to DC. Hotel breakfast was good but overpriced @ $15.00. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room/Bathroom was clean. Loved the fact that we had free Wifi and internet acess in our room. We did not get to use pool and spa due to our schedule.Would stay again if in area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    163
    30
    7
    7
See reviews for
104
69
23
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was staying with my husband and two children. The kids loved the cookies and popcorn in the lobby at the end of the day and the hot chocolate in the lobby in the morning. We avoided the breakfast because it seemed ridiculously overpriced (but aren't all non-gratis hotel breakfasts?) The hours of the pool were a bit odd (5-10PM, weekdays), but the kids were thrilled they got to swim at all, given that is was early March and COLD outside. The location was just right for us - close to a metro stop with restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The one MAJOR downside was the mildew smell in the room. It was most pronounced when first entering, and since none of us are really sensitive to it, we didn't fret. However, I could see it being a major issue for some.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Rated as 3 star, but probably higher in my opinion. Good value, best for business travellers as recreation facilities are not the best. Breakfast is okay, but staff are over-attentive; it's a bit like they are doing this in order to get a tip at the end, though that may be an American thing, not just this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed there for meetings. The conference space is ok, the management is great and very accommodating. There are a lot of good restaurants within easy access, many within walking distance. There is pay parking in an adjoining parking structure. No shuttle service from Reagan International Airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Well, it's not really hidden. It's a relatively new property a block off Wisconsin Avenue, about a 5 minute walk from the Bethesda Metro stop. It's nicely priced relative to the somewhat staid, dated hotel atop the Metro stop. And its location keeps it quieter than other hotels along Wisconsin.

It has its own restaurant, but there are scores of other dining choices within a 15 minute walk of the hotel; two of these are nationally known steak houses just around the corner.

The hotel has no weaknesses: it's nicely appointed, rooms are a generous size, wi-fi is free and robust, there is a restaurant and lounge, the staff are friendly and competent, rooms have good sound proofing, and the price is reasonable (for Washington, anyway). The Red Line can get downtown within 15 minutes. For those who care, the NIH campus is one Metro stop away.

It's my second time there in four months and both stays were very pleasant. I hope to be back.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My usual Bethesda was booked, so I tried this one. I loved it. Since I lived in Bethesda for years, I knew exactly where it was located and felt, for the price, I could walk the block or so to the metro. It's a safe walk. They also have parking. It is very reasonably price. During my first stay, I booked the second trip. I stayed a third time. I didn't even check the price of my usual hotel. With my March trip, I booked again at this place.

The rooms were clean. They had a nice bathroom. They are updated and modern. Spacious too. Mine had a rather large TV, a desk, a chair with an ottoman, and a king size bed. They have a nice fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Since it is a block off of Wisconsin, there is little city noise.

The staff was very nice. I do believe they have a decent breakfast. I tend to prefer just a bagel and coffee. But, they do have a full-buffet set up and it looks nice. At night, they had cookies in the lobby. They always had water, ice tea, and coffee. The front desk staff can answer any questions I asked. There is a nice selection of food in their small store area. They have a restaurant too.

The only thing is I don't like the pool/hot tub area. The keys never worked on the entrance. Also, it is only open in the evenings and many people don't use it. The life guard is nice, but he did watch me disrobe. It happened twice. I came down wearing my swimsuit, a pair of shorts, and a t-shirt. He would watch me take off the shorts and t-shirt. I didn't like that, so i didn't use the hot tub the third time. I'm debating using it during this upcoming visit.

They do have free printing from your room. You have to go into the business center to retrieve the documents. There is free wi-fi/internet.

I don't care for the beds. That's a chain-wide issue. They are suppose to be able to adjust, but they don't.

The hallways are brightly lite. The elevators are large. The parking garage is OK. They turn your room key into a parking pass. That is OK, but the one morning I had problems with the swipe key reader and had to use the other key. I got out, but the guy behind me was rather impatient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here one night on business. Rooms were clean and spacious. I was a bit disappointed that my window was adjacent to the top floor of the parking garage, which concerned me about safety, but I had no trouble. The hotel service was pleasant. The location was very convenient for my visit to NIH. Overall a good value, with typical Hilton hospitality. I would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Bethesda Hotel
Address: 7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#1 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic, sexy, and entirely new downtown Bethesda hotel near the Metro. The Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda. Only one block from the Bethesda Metrorail station and two miles outside Washington DC. Step inside and soak up an ambiance equally abuzz with urban energy. Adorned in glass, with artful lighting and sleek lines, the airy two-story lobby offers an inspiring alternative to the typical Bethesda hotels near the Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.