We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avg. Biz hotel, good bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Deal
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Avg. Biz hotel, good bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Clean, comfortable, central location. Only downside was Hilton's unwillingness to offer late check-outs past 1pm. Also room service wasn't great - only starts at 5.30pm and ends at 10.30pm - that said they do offer a small shop downstairs which isn't bad and is probably a fair compromise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    174
    34
    6
    7
See reviews for
114
74
26
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Service was excellent, with very friendly and helpful staff. Nice that is safe, quite and very convenient to DC and Bethesda.

The rooms are spacious, clean and updated. This hotel is in a good condition and is kept that way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn this past weekend on a trip to the DC area. We were seeing a lot of people in MD so we decided to stay in the area. The hotel was very comfortable and nice even though the lobby area was undergoing a weekend mini-renovation. Really didn't interrupt our stay. We had breakfast at the hotel one morning. As others have said it's about $15/per person and there's a pretty comprehensive buffet plus they will make you omelets, eggs, etc. That was probably the best part together with the fresh fruit. However, if you want to go out there are a ton of places within a few blocks walk (including Dunkin Donuts and a MD coffee place) so there are lots of options. They said that parking would be $15/night however when we got our bill it seemed to be comped. Not sure if we will get the charge separately. You can park in County parking for $5/day a block away so it's certainly not your only option either. We were just lazy! Bethesda has changed from a sleepy suburb when I grew up ages ago to a place that has a lot of shopping and easy walking. You're not too far from the beltway (495) or DC so it's not difficult to get around. We would definitely stay at this hotel again when we're in the area.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor not too far from the elevator facing a parking lot. Didn't hear anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is about a block away from the Bethesda Metro station and so is very convenient to get to on public transportation- 5 bucks from DCA instead of $35 cab ride. Hotel itslef is not fancy, but has adjustable firmness bed. Bar is small but only modestly overpriced- OK by DC standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I booked my reservation for 2 adjoining rooms 8 weeks ago. I Just received a phone call, at 8:17 pm, the eve before my stay, that the hotel could not accommodate my request for adjoining rooms. Therefore, I needed to scramble and find a hotel that could accommodate me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda (Downtown Bethesda, MD) in November 2012. It is about 2.5 blocks from the Bethesda Metro Station (red line). The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. When I checked in, I did receive a complimentary 10% off room service which I did not use.

Parking is adjacent to the hotel, but is owned by a different company. The overnight price is $15. It seems safe as the entrance to the hotel is also in this garage.
I, however, did not park here. I decided to park in the public garage which is a block away from the hotel as it only cost me less than $5 (all in coins).

They do have a restaurant in the hotel called the Great American Grill. It is opened in the evening for dinner and in the morning for breakfast. I did not eat dinner there, but I did have breakfast which was about $15, but it is for buffet and they do have a lot of choices like different juices and milk, pastry, muffin, donut, fruits like cantaloupe, melon and strawberry, yogurt, cereal, toast (they did have different types of bread), bagel, sausage, potatoes, scrambled eggs, hash browns, tatter tots, tea and coffee. The hotel also has something called a Pavilion which is next to the front desk and it is opened 24 hours/day with little snacks, drinks, gum, etc.

The room I stayed in was very spacious and comfortable (see pictures). It had a big TV, a microwave and a small refrigerator which came in handy. There is also a coffee pot, but I don’t drink coffee. There is also a safe in the closet where you can put your valuables. The bathroom had shampoo, conditioner, lotion, shower cap, and a hair dryer. One of the things I truly loved about this room is that it had a 4 socket plug in the wall, so I didn’t have to plug anything out if I wanted to use any of my items in the room – I wish all hotels had one of those in their rooms. There is also free wifi access as well.

Lastly, another thing I like about this hotel is safety – in order to get to any of the floors (exception is the lobby), you need your key. Love it. I truly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and if I have to stay in Bethesda again, this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

very good hotel for reasonable price. good food for the breakfast. Comfortable big rooms with everything you need for short stay in Washington area. There is a restaurant on the lobby level. 24 hours mini market on the lobby level. Hotel is located near Bethesda metro station.

Room Tip: I was in room 1016 It was big, comfortable with microwave and fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Address: 7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#1 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic, sexy, and entirely new downtown Bethesda hotel near the Metro. The Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda. Only one block from the Bethesda Metrorail station and two miles outside Washington DC. Step inside and soak up an ambiance equally abuzz with urban energy. Adorned in glass, with artful lighting and sleek lines, the airy two-story lobby offers an inspiring alternative to the typical Bethesda hotels near the Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Bethesda Hotel Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.