We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Deal
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Once more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is my third stay here, and as always the check-in and out process was efficient and quick. When I had an issue with my air-conditioning making a noise, the response by the engineers was very prompt, and they sorted it out. I have stayed in several other hotels in the area, and find the hilton to be best suited for my needs.

Room Tip: If you have a room only booking, I would suggest you also try breakfast (with reasonable prices) in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    194
    42
    8
    8
See reviews for
128
83
29
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel where I stayed for an annual conference. This time I was planning on relaxing and watching TLC Sunday night....there are tons of sports channels on their TV lineup but no TLC! Missed out on Long Island Medium!

Computers in the business center are a bit outdated and one of them has a broken stand on the keyboard....also would appreciate some wipes in there to wipe down the keyboard. I couldn't print my boarding pass because they don't have Adobe PDF reader installed on them, so I had to go to the front desk to print it.....PDF reader is not exactly exotic software, also the IE browser doesn't support tabs.....quite a bit behind the times. Did appreciate that it was free to use the computers since I didn't have my laptop or other email device with me.

Overall a very good value and perfectly nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The location was excellent and the rooms were good size for a hotel in this price range. The location is close to almost everything in downtown Bethesda, including the Metro and a huge variety of restaurants (the high-end specialty and department stores are about a mile closer to DC in Chevy Chase). The lobby was small but pleasant. The weekend we were there, a large arts and crafts show was being held a few blocks away, one of the best I've seen of these outdoor art shows. We were unfortunately on the same floor as the (tiny) pool and fitness room, which led to a fairly strong chlorine smell at certain times of day, but the noise was not an issue. The beds and pillows (non-foam) were comfortable, reading and working lights were excellent, and both the bath (decent size) and room were very clean. The staff was pleasant and helpful, but the hotel's breakfast buffet is basically an all-you-can eat single price ($15) affair, which, if you like a coffee/cereal type of breakfast, was simply not reasonable price-wise. Perhaps the hotel has a continental breakfast option on weekdays; they should make it available on weekends as well. There is a Starbucks a block away, about a two minute walk. Moreover, right next to the Starbucks is a municipal garage that is free on weekends, so you can skip the $15/night hotel parking (not unreasonable by DC standards) if you wish. One warning; while the hotel is close to everything in northwest DC, including American U., the National Cathedral, embassies, etc., the traffic on the main artery, Wisconsin Ave. can be very slow, so plan for and find alternate routes.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the pool and fitness room, choose a room on the second floor, otherwise I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is in the heart of Bethesda, an upscale area with plenty of good restaurants, stores and cafes. It's less than two blocks to the Bethesda Metro stop. The rooms are large with business hotel furnishings. Staff were pleasant. The only downsides were a charge for parking and the use of a hotel "scent" that was pervasive and unpleasant to me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed here to visit relatives in Bethesda and was impressed. The hotel is very nice, quiet, with nicely furnished rooms and comfortable beds with nice linens - but the best part was the location. Just 2 blocks to the Metro for super easy access to all of the Washington DC tourist attractions, and a very quick walk to the heart of Bethesda, a trendy and charming neighborhood area with many nice restaurants, bistros, and shops -- plus 2 Starbucks within a 5 minute walk for the mornings.
My elderly parents enjoyed the deluxe breakfast buffet each morning and I chose to enjoy one of the many fun cafes within easy walking distance. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There isn't really a "view" side of the hotel so no rooms/floors seemed preferable to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I am a born Washingtonian who moved to Florida. I had a business trip and stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda. This location is great. The staff made all feel welcome. It is close to Metro and roads connecting to DC, MD and VA. I will be back again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband travels all over the country. Never have I had such a difficult time trying to call him. The staff here is rude, neglegent, and untrained. He was staying at this hotel for three nights. During that time I spent about 30 minutes on hold. He said the room was nothing special, either. He also told me that the staff was not friendly as he checked in. This place really stinks for the $$$ they charge and the entire management needs to be seriously evaluated. I prefer Holiday Inn Express or even Days Inn to these incompetent idiots.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanelle L, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable level of customer service from our staff while trying to reach your husband. The problems you mentioned with staff courtesy have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda

Address: 7301 Waverly Street, Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic, sexy, and entirely new downtown Bethesda hotel near the Metro. The Hilton Garden Inn Bethesda. Only one block from the Bethesda Metrorail station and two miles outside Washington DC. Step inside and soak up an ambiance equally abuzz with urban energy. Adorned in glass, with artful lighting and sleek lines, the airy two-story lobby offers an inspiring alternative to the typical Bethesda hotels near the Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Bethesda Hotel Bethesda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.