We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Sorrento

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trattoria Sorrento
4930 Cordell Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2510
301-718-0344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Sorrento is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 296 restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Old Georgetown Rd
Transit: Bethesda Metro three blocks walking along Old Georgetown Rd. and free shuttle service to and from Metro
Southern California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

While visiting the area, we stopped here. Fish was delicious, generous portions and nice atmosphere. A tables are a little too close together.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    10
    9
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely little treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Don't let the exterior of this restaurant nor its location fool you. It's a trusty little gem of a place with service beyond compare and tasty, authentic Italian food. If you're fortunate enough to have visited Italy, you will feel as if you've stepped into a family restaurant on the streets of Florence or Rome. As others have mentioned, the service staff is incredibly friendly and readily available to provide suggestions. The homemade bread arrives almost as soon as you sit down and is yummy. Every dish our party ordered was scrumptious and quite filling, from basic spaghetti and meatballs to more extravagant veal Parmesan. The lasagne was better than mama's! Do put this humble establishment on your list -- it's just like dining at your best friend's ... if your friend were an authentic Italian cook.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was my second Meal at this lovely little Italian restaurant. I am a veal lover and believe me it has to be cooked just right to melt in your mouth. The beet salad was a beautiful presentation for the eye and made for a happy stomach. My company had the Veal shank , Seafood dish and the Gnocchi. There was not much conversation during the repast....to busy enjoying and savoring. We love all the employees, I understand they are all family and it shows. The night we went the dining room was full but the noise level was low. Everything about this little treasure is wonderful. Next time we are in the area it is on our GPS file as a favorite stop.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was impressed at the seafood menu of this small Italian restaurant. It truly does reflect the flavor of a coastal restaurant in southern Italy. Food is well prepared and the prices are reasonable.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good quality and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We went on a Sunday night, no wait for a table for two, and had nice service. We had the risotta seafood dish and gnocchi, which were both excellent. Fried calamari appetizer was mediocre,not quite grilled, not quite fried. We didn't drink, but it appeared there was a large selection to choose from. Good service. $57.00

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Sorrento also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.