We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Praline Bakery & Bistro

Praline Bakery & Bistro
4611-O Sangamore Rd., Bethesda, MD 20816
3012298180
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Bakeries in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: MacArthur Blvd
Transit: Metro Red Line to Friendship Heights, then Ride On Bus 23 to Sangamore Rd.
Description: Praline Bakery & Bistro opened its doors on Sangamore Road in Bethesda, Maryland, in April 2006, the culmination of years of partnership and planning by co-owners Susan Limb and Patrick Musel, whose love of fine cuisine and talent for creating delectable pastries led them here. Together, they wanted to build a welcoming neighborhood place where people of all ages could gather for a good meal, a quality pastry, or coffee. Every day, we try our best to provide just that.Praline Bakery prepares pastries fresh daily, using the finest ingredients and no preservatives. Come in and taste some of our delectable breakfast pastries and cakes which include traditionally made croissants, which include butter, chocolate, and almond, and danishes, such as apple walnut, pecan raisin, and raspberry almond twists. We offer a variety of cakes that is sure to please almost any palate – from French chocolate mousse to an American carrot cake.Praline Bistro is open for lunch Monday through Saturday, dinner Monday through Sunday and Brunch on Sunday. All meals our prepared by our culinary team led by Executive Chef Christian Gautrois.
United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We usually go to the bakery for take-out but have had lunch here as well. Very popular since there are not many other places in this particular neighborhood (not downtown Bethesda.) the preparation is perfect and the staff work hard to meet a huge demand.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RangerDanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good French cooking in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at this out of the way spot in the shopping center off Sangamore Rd. near the Army map service. Beautiful bakery downstairs and a nice dinning room upstairs with a large outdoor terrace for great Al Fresca dinning. The sautéed rib eye steak was cooked perfect to medium rare and the soft shell appetizer with a fabulous sauce was great, Our friends had a real gourmet hamburger,thick and juicy, with hand cut fries, and one of the best Liver and onions with all the trimmings done just perfect. You could believe dinning outside you might be in a fancy bistro in Paris without the plane ride. To much to eat and no room for dessert, we will definitely be back very soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The food is always fabulous, but service not so..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have eaten at Praline once a week for over 12 months. I find the items on the daily menu are always outstanding. But the uneven quality of the service colors my favorable opinion of this restaurant.
Yesterday, we had to wait for everything, service, drinks, bread, refills for drinks, the dessert menu, the bill and waiter to take our credit cared. I was so aggravated that I went to the cashier's stand to pay my bill because it was quicker than waiting at the table to sign the credit card slip.
The service is frequently uneven, but yesterday (5/9) was the worst.
I always tip generously, frequently order a bottle of wine and a three course meal. So what does it take to get good service at this restaurant. I often perceive that older men getter better service than older women.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 499vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
186 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Four Excellent Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The selections of tenderlion, salmon, minute steak, and soft shell crab were all excellent for a group of four diners. The deserts were quite good. The wine list is a limited one, but our waiter was able to pour a glass from the list that was not offered as such and there were a number of lower priced offerings. Overall, highly rated and certainly worth several more visits

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank endjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“A neighborhood gem and a wonderful bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It is primarily a bakery, which also serve lunch and tea. Always I was there I see a very distinctive clients in a quite environment. The sandwiches, sweets and other dishes available in the menu are delicious.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank darwinsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praline Bakery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Praline Bakery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing