We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neighborhood gem and a wonderful bakery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Praline Bakery & Bistro

Praline Bakery & Bistro
4611-O Sangamore Rd., Bethesda, MD 20816
3012298180
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 300 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: MacArthur Blvd
Transit: Metro Red Line to Friendship Heights, then Ride On Bus 23 to Sangamore Rd.
Description: Praline Bakery & Bistro opened its doors on Sangamore Road in Bethesda, Maryland, in April 2006, the culmination of years of partnership and planning by co-owners Susan Limb and Patrick Musel, whose love of fine cuisine and talent for creating delectable pastries led them here. Together, they wanted to build a welcoming neighborhood place where people of all ages could gather for a good meal, a quality pastry, or coffee. Every day, we try our best to provide just that.Praline Bakery prepares pastries fresh daily, using the finest ingredients and no preservatives. Come in and taste some of our delectable breakfast pastries and cakes which include traditionally made croissants, which include butter, chocolate, and almond, and danishes, such as apple walnut, pecan raisin, and raspberry almond twists. We offer a variety of cakes that is sure to please almost any palate – from French chocolate mousse to an American carrot cake.Praline Bistro is open for lunch Monday through Saturday, dinner Monday through Sunday and Brunch on Sunday. All meals our prepared by our culinary team led by Executive Chef Christian Gautrois.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“A neighborhood gem and a wonderful bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It is primarily a bakery, which also serve lunch and tea. Always I was there I see a very distinctive clients in a quite environment. The sandwiches, sweets and other dishes available in the menu are delicious.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Always enjoy the delicious pastries at Praline's. Whenever we go, we end up getting much more than we should. This last time, between the two of us, we had five pastries. My favorite was actually the savory ham and cheese croissant.

The upstairs restaurant is a nice treat too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“one of Bethesda's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

this is one of the very best places in the Bethesda area to go for brunch...the good is so, so good...there is also a bakery where you can pick something up to take home...it is a very popular place so it is a good idea to make reservations

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food, unassuming atmosphere, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited Praline for the first time last night, having decided to try it on the strength of the reviews. Everyone is right - the location might be a bit off-putting, in a sort of strip mall (but we were intrigued by other offerings at the mall so might return to check them out), and the inside is perfectly nice but not fabulous. I was impressed with how friendly the owner?/maitre d'? was when he seated us - he seemed delighted to have us there. The staff was warm and attentive (after a brief dead time in the beginning waiting for someone to take our drink order), and the food did not disappoint. I had the Praline salad and found it delicious, and I had the special seared sea scallops on butternut risotto with brussel sprouts - what a heavenly dish! The scallops were perhaps the teensiest bit overdone, but basically this was a fantastic dish. My dining partner had the burger, which he said was delicious - albeit a bit small (and for $15, he wants a big burger!). The french fries were lovely - some of the best I've had. We look forward to going back so we can try the chicken pot pie. Although the regular menu is indeed fairly limited, there were numerous specials, so I felt that we had plenty to choose from. My one disappointment was that I had looked at the menu their website ahead of time and was thinking I'd like the Vegetable Napoleon - but it was missing from the menu! Praline, please update your online menu, so you don't tempt and then disappoint in this way (luckily the special that I had more than made up for the let-down). With good-sized glasses of wine that aren't too overpriced (my Merlot was lovely, and only $7), we definitely plan to return to Praline. Especially since we were too full for dessert, and we must return to try what their bakery has to offer!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Praline's delivers the (baked) goods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A combo fine dining/bakery establishment located within the unassuming confines of a Bethesda strip-mall, Praline's was a pleasant surprise for a recent Sunday brunch. The grilled vegetable wrap was delish, though the side of salad was a bit overboard on the greens. Bakery items are fresh and good. Service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praline Bakery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Praline Bakery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praline Bakery & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.