We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bakery, good food but quirky service upstairs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Praline Bakery & Bistro

Praline Bakery & Bistro
4611-O Sangamore Rd., Bethesda, MD 20816
3012298180
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: MacArthur Blvd
Transit: Metro Red Line to Friendship Heights, then Ride On Bus 23 to Sangamore Rd.
Description: Praline Bakery & Bistro opened its doors on Sangamore Road in Bethesda, Maryland, in April 2006, the culmination of years of partnership and planning by co-owners Susan Limb and Patrick Musel, whose love of fine cuisine and talent for creating delectable pastries led them here. Together, they wanted to build a welcoming neighborhood place where people of all ages could gather for a good meal, a quality pastry, or coffee. Every day, we try our best to provide just that.Praline Bakery prepares pastries fresh daily, using the finest ingredients and no preservatives. Come in and taste some of our delectable breakfast pastries and cakes which include traditionally made croissants, which include butter, chocolate, and almond, and danishes, such as apple walnut, pecan raisin, and raspberry almond twists. We offer a variety of cakes that is sure to please almost any palate – from French chocolate mousse to an American carrot cake.Praline Bistro is open for lunch Monday through Saturday, dinner Monday through Sunday and Brunch on Sunday. All meals our prepared by our culinary team led by Executive Chef Christian Gautrois.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great bakery, good food but quirky service upstairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have been several times before and enjoyed the food and the general setting, so decided to try it for a larger family lunch outing. We found the food still very good, and with attention to seasonal offerings, nice variety, etc. but the service was pretty spotty and the attitude is somewhat off putting. For example, one of us asked, "Please serve the dressing on the side," a common American request. When the dish arrived already dressed, rather than apologize, the chef came out to explain that it was a "very light dressing" and "really barely noticeable." Rating is an average from the great food and less great customer service.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A hidden French delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011 via mobile

This is a fairly small place, unless the weather permits patio dining. So the only reason you can even get a table is because it is tucked away in a Safeway/CVS/Chicos shopping center, next to a top secret defense installation off MacArthur Boulevard on one side and Mass. Av. on the other. The ground floor is a French bakery (yum!) and the dining area is up a flight. We had a delicious fresh snapper and our friends raved about the veggie Napoleon. Wines were good and reasonable. Salads very tasty without too much dressing. And being a bakery, the desserts were scrumptious. Friendly professional service. Easy free parking. Just take the GPS when you go.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tres Authentique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Praline serves the real deal, superb French cuisine in a comfortable atmosphere without pretense. We had recently returned from a trip to France and had the chance to relive some of our fondest culinary memories at Praline: fresh salad greens with the perfect vinaigrette, a smooth and delicious summer vegetable soup, perfect baguettes, steak frites, filet of trout, escargots, and mouthwatering macarons. I still have dreams about Praline's walnut dacquoise, possibly the best dessert I've had in my lifetime.

Best of all is the fact that Praline is in a very accessible shopping center with the capacity for both intimate dining or large group events on their spacious outdoor terrace. While our travel budget recovers from recent trips, Praline will serve as the next best thing to a trip to France.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food and gracious service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Went with family, age range from teens to seniors and appealed to all. Food was wonderful and the servers helpful and hospitable. Appetizers, entrees, and dessert were perfection. Have gone several times and have never found fault.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praline Bakery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Praline Bakery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praline Bakery & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.