We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Service & Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakville Grille and Wine Bar

Oakville Grille and Wine Bar
10257 Old Georgetown Rd, Bethesda, MD 20814
(301) 897-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oakville Grille and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Democracy Blvd
Transit: Grosvenor Metro Metro Bus
Middletown, MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Service & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I believe you could pick anything on the menu and have a wonderful, delicious meal. The service was extraordinary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere, indifferent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I found the Oakville Grille while looking for a restaurant in the Bethesda area. It sounded good from the reviews, so I made a reservation for my son and me. The food was good, but not overwhelmingly so, but the service was a disappointment. Bread was served after a bit of a wait, but there was no butter with it. Water was not refilled promptly at first, but, after we asked for refillsthe first time, the glasses were refilled without further specific requests. The restaurant was not very busy, and it seemed to take a long time for the order to be taken and the food to be delivered. We tried a smoked salmon pizza appetizer that was quite good, and the seafood risotto that I ordered was very nice. The scallops were also very good - not overcooked and very flavorful..

There are several restaurants in the strip mall where the Oakville Grille is located, and I don't know how it compares with the others. It's a linen tablecloth place in a strip mall (albeit in Bethesda), so it's pricier than some of the other places in the same shopping center.

I might go back there again, but if I do it will be because it's convenient for the occasion. I wouldn't go out of my way for it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice, local, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Walking in the door, you aren't expecting much. However, once you are seated, the little place grows on you. Decent wine selection, reasonably priced and enjoyable salads and entrees. Service was pleasant and unrushed. The placed filled up but the noise level was acceptable. Will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WASHINGTON, DC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A bit of welcome formality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Oakville Grille doesn't demand a particular dress code of its customers: come for lunch and you will find a full range of dress on display. Still, the tables are beautifully set with heavy linens and the overall feel of the place is a comfortable, low-key formality that somehow makes a meal here a nicer dining experience than many places you might stop for lunch. It is a quiet but modern and airy restaurant where people talk discreetly while enjoying a lovely and varied menu. I'm certain that - like myself - my fellow diners all own various electronic devices but none of these were on display and this I attribute to the quietly elegant air of this little place. I've had lunch here twice and both meals have been very good, with attentive waiters. They have a lovely wine bar so I'd like to come back one evening soon and have dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wants to be fine dining...doesn't quite make it...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Oakville Grille really wants to be a fine dining establishment. Unfortunately, there are several problems getting in the way of it achieving that.

- Price. Much too expensive for the quality, which wasn't bad but certainly wasn't good enough to justify the prices.

- Food: It's good, but not (yet) very good. Two different meals (salmon and tilapia) both had sauces that were so mild they may as well have been left off the plate.
Salmon was requested medium rare, but arrived medium well.
The steak was good, but served with fries, almost as if the chef couldn't figure out something more creative to plate with it.
Presentation was very nice in all cases.
Desserts were ok, but nothing spectacular.
- Service: Very attentive to start with, but got progressively less so as the meal continued.

I really wanted to give this restaurant a "Good" rating, but tripadvisor only offers Average or Very Good. Unfortunately, I can't justify the latter.

I hope they keep trying, because the potential is there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakville Grille and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Oakville Grille and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakville Grille and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.