We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good local restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakville Grille and Wine Bar

Oakville Grille and Wine Bar
10257 Old Georgetown Rd, Bethesda, MD 20814
(301) 897-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oakville Grille and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Democracy Blvd
Transit: Grosvenor Metro Metro Bus
Rockville
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Really good local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant. Everything we had - white pizza, duck confit, fish, was really good. And, things we saw but did not have tempt us to return soon. Deserts were equally good and a very nice and reasonably priced wine list. Excellent service by attentive and responsive staff. Even the bread was good. And the restaurant is relatively quiet so conversation was easy. And, unlike places further down in Bethesda, parking is easy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Elegant and Eager to Please!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Particularly appreciated was the willingness to accomodate my low sodium dietary requirement. With several tasty options to choose and a pleasant staff, I like this place to meet friends and work colleagues in an elegant environment.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Made a reservation for New Year's Eve.....were told it was impossible, but we could sit at the bar. When we arrived, the bar was crowded so we were offered a table in Geppetto's. We accepted, but were very disappointed! First of all, the service was just okay. Had to request the wine list and then the server stood over me waiting for me to select a wine......very annoying.... My husband got the calamari appetizer. Tasted good, but gave him diarrhea all day New Year's day.....he eats calamari, so this is unusual. His steak was delicious, but at $30 for the entree, I would expect something better than sub-par french fries......I've had much better at McDonald's. My sea bass was good, but I also had an upset stomach the next day!
Also, we paid Oakville prices, but did not get the atmosphere or the free Lindt truffles or party favors that were being offered on the other side and ended up with just so-so food. We used to go to Oakville on a regular basis, but hadn't been in a few years so this was very disappointing. Wish we had just stayed home......
The only saving grace was that I ran into an old friend I hadn't seen in over 30 years and we had a chance to chat........but I'm afraid Oakville is off my list of restaurant choices in the future!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful little restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I've lived in Bethesda most of my life and always enjoy taking out of towners and friends to this nice restaurant for lunch- they have great options and the open faced grilled chicken sandwich is my absolute favorite! It can be a bit pricey, so i'd recommend trying lunch!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A don't miss find in Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Other said it too, don't be fooled by the strip mall location. The menu has something for everyone, from appetizers to dessert. Excellent selection of wines also. The restaurant was fairly crowded, yet the noise level was low. One of our pickier family members said it was one of the best meals that she's had in a long time. The service was very good. I highly recommend this restaurant for a special family dinner or a nice place to take your first date..!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakville Grille and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Oakville Grille and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakville Grille and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.