We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was skeptical.... but extremely happy with the evening.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakville Grille and Wine Bar

Oakville Grille and Wine Bar
10257 Old Georgetown Rd, Bethesda, MD 20814
(301) 897-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oakville Grille and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Democracy Blvd
Transit: Grosvenor Metro Metro Bus
Newville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Was skeptical.... but extremely happy with the evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I hosted a group of co-workers this week at the Oakville Grille and Wine Bar. It was very close to the hotel in which we were staying and had good ratings and an interesting selection of wines so we ventured out. All 6 of us ordered something different and the meals were all very good. It was a nice atmosphere inside and the staff was very attentive. Will definitely be back when in Bethesda.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Yes, Bethesda, there is fine dining in a strip shopping center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Oakville Grille pulls off in a neighborhood shopping center the high-end menu and dining experience one would normally associate with city-center or countryside setting. Having dined there with an old friend a few times lately, I recently steered hungry co-workers there for dinner to laving praise afterwards. Service is attentive and gracious without being intrusive or pretentious, and a mix of French and California dishes stream from the kitchen cooked to perfection with an ideal hand at seasoning. Better yet, an impressive global wine list implores exploration, and the wait staff is fit for the task of recommending pairings to suit one's meal and one's palette. Make sure you leave room for dessert, too, and remember when you're at the end of the meal that a lovely cheese plate appeared on the apps list!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Best restaurant of the northern Washington suburbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Once you enter this restaurant, you forget that it is located in a strip mall; the room is quite inviting and the tables well laid out. Service was friendly and very attentive. I found the menu to be comprehensive, but I was quite impressed when the appetizers arrived. The quality of the food and of the presentation, the generous portions, the taste, all were excellent. I had the mussels and was suprised by the exquisite taste of the broth. I could not wait to see what the main courses would be like, and I was not disappointed. On the contrary. The baked cod and the lamb platters were worthy of the best restaurants I have been to. I am sorry we did not discover this restaurant sooner!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“dull”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is not an interesting restaurant menu wise.The food is forgettable as is the service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CINCINNATI
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“FINE CONTEMPORARY DINING IN THE MIDDLE OF A NEIGHBORHOOD STRIP CENTER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We read on trip advisor mostly favorable dining reviews on this restaurant. We were a family party of eight, on Friday night after Thanksgiving. Our dinner reservation were for 6:00PM.

Each one in our Party of eight selected a different item from the menu. The tablecloth candlelight restaurant, was a welcome break from the Black Friday marketing around us.

The food presentation, and selections looked as if they came off the pages of Bon Apetite. Reading previous Trip Advisor Reviews, we knew that our dinner would be pricey, but this was OK.

All of the previous positive trip advisor reviews are correct. Do not understand the negative reviews. (Could be a bad night for the reviewer, or the restaurant, these occasional review times do happen, thus making for honesty in reviews.)

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakville Grille and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Oakville Grille and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakville Grille and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.