We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow but Friendly Service ~ Be Adventuresome and Try the Desserts!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La

Shangri-La
7345 A Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814
(301) 656-4444
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 307 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: In our ideal restaurant classic vegetarian dishes would be made from locally grown organic produce effused with Indian and Nepalese spices. Meats would be cooked high over hot charcoal in a tandoor (a traditional clay oven) allowing fats to drain, thereby lowering their cholesterol content. He would cook with olive oil, make his own yogurt and bake bread as ordered. Shangrila restaurant would serve the simple fresh, organic, flavorfully spiced foods that a mother would cook if she came from New Delhi or Katmandu.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Slow but Friendly Service ~ Be Adventuresome and Try the Desserts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our 28 yr old daughter, who's lived in DC for 6 years, suggested this Bethesda, MD restaurant for a Sunday night dinner menu change ~ Nepali-Indian cuisine, while we, her parents, were in DC for 5 days, attending a National Harbor, MD, investment sales convention. Upon entering this quiet restaurant, it was dark and cozy as there were numerous flickering table candles, creating a warm, almost mystical ambiance to this small restaurant setting. We 3 were cordially seated at a table for 4 by the wall, white tablecloths and white napkins were laid out. We waited about 20 minutes for menus and waitstaff attention before being attended to. We perused the dinner menu and decided to order raitha, an Indian, Pakistani & Bangladeshi condiment made with yogurt, which we used to dip our naan (leavened, oven-baked flatbread), (This restaurant charges an extra $2.50 for a naan order.) For dinner, we ordered the chicken tikka masālā entree (boneless chicken breast strips marinated in yogurt & spices, and then served in a spicey tomato cream sauce/$15.25); chicken sag (boneless chicken sautéed w/ cooked spinach in curry sauce/$15.09); and, Khasi ko masu (goat meat cooked in a Nepalese curry sauce ($17.78). Among us, we 3 shared our dishes, and our "exotic favorite" was the Khasi ko masu, tasting a lot like beef rather than lamb meat. Wonderful, unusual spices mixed in all 3 entree dishes, which was very enjoyable and satisfying. My husband also ordered a wine glass of Bontera cabernet, which was rather pricey @$9/glass, but perhaps that's the usual restaurant wine price for DC dining. After nicely consuming our entrees by candlelight, the restaurant manager politely stopped by our table & recommended several unusual desserts to us: gulab jamun ($4.99)~ a traditional Indian dessert, created of spongy, milky balls soaked in rich, dark-brown rose-scented syrup.The other recommended dessert we consumed was ras malai ($4.99)~ a very popular Indian milk-based dessert (often served at Indian weddings): dumplings made from riccotta cheese & soaked in sweetened, thickened milk, delicately flavored with cardamom. It was served chilled to us & garnished with pistachio pieces. I'd recommend this restaurant for some unusual Indian-Nepali cuisine in the heart of the Bethesda upscale shopping district. It has an intimate, warm atmosphere, and friendly wait staff once they become motivated with the "routine and bustle" of serving you.Total restaurant bill for 3 adults = $79.34 + 20% tip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    30
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
frederick, maryland
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
456 helpful votes 456 helpful votes
“Superb Nepali food experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great food, nice ambience and table settings, and accommodating staff. We came here with very good friends and all thoroughly enjoyed a first experience with Nepali food. Our young waiter, Dipesh, from Katmandu, was very helpful in guiding us through the menu to select traditional Nepali items and coach us on spiciness. He was very patient even when I asked if they had buffalo or yak meat on the menu (they have goat, chicken, and lamb). We started with a mix of vege and chicken "momo" (steamed dumplings) with a nice sauce. The gundrunk soup was a treat of flavors and spice (the key component is fermented dried spinach). For main courses, we had khasi ko masu (spicy goat), butter chicken (not traditional Nepali, but a nonspicy Indian respite), a vegetarian Nepali thali and the nonvegetarian Nepali thali. Thali is a large sampling of foods and these included dal (lentil) soup, gundrunk soup, spinach paneer, vegetable curry, chicken and goat (in the nonvege thali). All of the dishes came with the traditional basmati rice, but we also had a portion of Indian naan. We also received a small portion of a spicy pickled condiment. The food was delicious and satisfying. We had masala tea (spiced and dark) and finished with a taste of rasamali, a sweet dessert consisting of paneer soaked in milk with cream and flavored with cardamom and pistachio. We thoroughly enjoyed this meal and the interaction with the wait staff. I am already looking forward to the next visit! Next time, I think we would order main (traditional Nepali) dishes and share more around the table.

We were surprised that the restaurant was not full, especially for a Friday night, perhaps because they do a large takeout business.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food does not outweigh bad, lazy service....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We placed our usual online order (over $100) for delivery and did not receive everything. I called and asked that they please send the driver back with the rest of order. They apologized, said they were busy, left the items out of the bag and would send out the driver again. After waiting over an hour, I called back again and they told us their policies had changed. They no longer include the item I specifically requested with the order.
Wow.
It's so frustrating dealing with a business like this. Customer loyalty means nothing anymore. Please be cautious when ordering from here. We of course will never do so again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,060 reviews 1,060 reviews
508 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I met some friends here for supper the other night and was pleasantly surprised at what a great restaurant this is. The food was delicious, the staff was fabulous, and the ambience was very conducive to catching up with old friends. It's a winner!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Four Stars for Indian and Nepali Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

If you're in Bethesda, Maryland, enjoy Indian food and want to sample some Nepali items, Shangri-la is worth a visit. At dinner, the cooking is thoughtful and the wine list is surprisingly good-- we have had interesting organic wines here on occasion. We have enjoyed the tandoori items, the daal, the papal paneer (spinach with cheese cubes) and the breads. The lunch buffet is plentiful, hearty and filling-- an excellent bargain. Service is always unobtrusive and helpful.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangri-La also viewed

 

Been to Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.