We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Chinese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Village

Shanghai Village
4929 Bethesda Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-5203
301-654-7788
Update restaurant details
Ranked #90 of 292 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Kensington, Maryland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Local Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice food in a pleasant atmosphere. Can get loud. Service can be slow, but when the food comes out, it comes out! Have them serve one dish at a time. You enjoy each dish on its own. Owner comes out to cut up whole, but not half, duck. Nice touch. friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    8
    5
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hadnt been in years but really taste treat and will remember the yummy food! Several of my friends mentioned that this is an all time Bethesda favorite!! We did carry out and went babysitting which was just super in so many ways... Try it!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

If food is the reason for your visit, you'll be pleasantly surprised. Indeed, the decor is so so but the service makes up for it. I would not go as far as others and say it is the best Chinese food in the DMV, but it's clearly value for money; we were surprised by the rather reasonable bill!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in DC!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have been coming here for over 10 years and I will never get tired of it!!!! My family and I always take our friends and family here, or eat it for take-out. The owner couldn't be nicer, and many local politicians and celebrities have gone there. I definitely recommend it for anyone who loves chinese food (or even if you dont you'll get hooked after coming here!).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“So So Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

Not much to say, crispy beef was rubbery not much sauce and on the bland side. Wife's general tso's was the same. Cooked fine but, really not much taste at all. I understand this Americanized Chinese food, buy it doesn't have to be like this.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Village also viewed

 

Been to Shanghai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.