We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but lacks some atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redwood

Redwood
7121 Bethesda Lane, Bethesda, MD 20814
301.656.5515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Redwood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 296 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: The Bethesda Metro station is located only three blocks from the heart of Bethesda Row. Take the red line to Bethesda Metro Center.
UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good service but lacks some atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The food is excellent and service was good.I just felt the restaurant was a little dark and needed some enhanced lighting. The food was good value for money. i would visit again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    19
    46
    21
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This was the best dining experience i have had in a year. All the food was delicious. The staff were on top of everything. We were celebrating a family engagement and the evening could not have gone better. Highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Reliable date night restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant and bar never disappoints for a date night. Service is pleasant and food good (not great). Bar options are good and in the nice weather sitting outside is a plus.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good value if you happen to like an item”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The best thing one can say about Redwood is that the pre fixe menu is a terrific value. The two of us who ordered it received generous servings of well prepared, if not outstanding, food. But the menu didn't offer much variety. I'm not a vegetarian but sometimes I feel in the mood for a meatless meal. This happened to be such a night and I couldn't find anything appealing.

Our server was friendly and competent, but I dislike being addressed in first person plural. Madam, you can be friendly without being familiar.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service on Bethesda Lane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Redwood is located within the Bethesda Lane walking Mall of Bethesda Row. The restaurant is decorated in a contemporary style with redwood and metals, in a way that is warm and inviting. Our Waiter shared that they have abundant outdoor seating available after 15 March and the restaurant windows fully open when the weather is pleasant in the Spring and Fall. They offer a lengthy wine list with a solid variety by the glass as well as specialty martinis, which my wife enjoys. Their French Onion Soup and Roasted Beet and Arugula Salad were both great appetizers. The Grilled Hanger Steak and the Mole Braised Beef Short Ribs were terrific; both entrees included a generous portion of vegetables which I greatly appreciate. Our Waiter was terrific with a thorough knowledge of the neighborhood, as well as the menu and wines by the glass. Everything came as order and never too early or late. Drink refills were offered in a timely manner without being overbearing. Dinner came to $75 per person with 2 drinks/person and tip. Overall a great experience. We are planning to go back once the patio is open and the weather warms up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwood also viewed

 

Been to Redwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.