We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice choice if you are in the middle of downtown Bethesda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redwood

Redwood
7121 Bethesda Lane, Bethesda, MD 20814
301.656.5515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Redwood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: The Bethesda Metro station is located only three blocks from the heart of Bethesda Row. Take the red line to Bethesda Metro Center.
Oldsmar, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A nice choice if you are in the middle of downtown Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Went in for lunch with a group recently. We had 8 and were seated immediately. We had a variety of dishes and the reviews were generally very good. Great review of the Mac and Cheese and Onion Rings as apps even though the Rings were obviously very overlooked and I might have cooked a new batch if I were running the kitchen?
The service was prompt and the menu was small but had several good choices. I had a chopped salad and I have had better looking ones in the past but the grilled chicken breast was tender and cooked perfectly. I did not hear a single complaint from anyone at the table and we got apps, 8 lunches and soda/tea for just over $25 each which I found reasonable for a great location and a nicely designed restaurant. You can find less expensive sure, but this is a little more upscale and the food was good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    49
    25
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Limited Menu but very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were two couples visiing this restaurant last night. Of course being in Bethesda on a Saturday night presents the problems of parking. Once you solve that issure you will find a room, clean and nicely appointed establishment. Drinks were excellent. I ordered the pate appetizer and it was really good. The ladies both ordered trout and both enjoyed it greatly. The uys has the short ribs which were fabulous, melt in your mouth. We ordered the Pris Fix menu for $35.00 which included great desserts. My only advise, watch your drinking. We didn't go overboard but the price of the drinks equaled the meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Pleasant outdoor seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Have passed Redwood many times before and always wanted to try it, although the dinner menu seems a bit pricey. The other day we were in Bethesda around lunch time so that was a good opportunity to try it. The weather was nice so we sat outside, very relaxing – there’s a lot of outdoor seating (nice and quiet since it’s a pedestrian area), high bar tables as well as regular ones with umbrellas, tables all set at an angle so you have a lot of space and privacy. We had the fish tacos and fish and chips. The tacos came in very generous portions (3 tacos) with perfectly grilled juicy chunks of fish, everything’s super fresh although the flavor’s a bit bland for my taste. Overall it was a very pleasant experience (4 stars for seating and atmosphere, 3.5 stars for food).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douala, Cameroon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, Excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been to Redwood before and have had mixed experiences. The food has always been good but not always great. The service has sometimes been an issue. This last time though, it was simply perfect.

I took my mom to Redwood for her birthday dinner. She owns a catering business so she is quite food savvy. She was thrilled and so was I.

The food was so fresh! It felt like they had just picked the vegetables. The main salmon and beef salad were divine.

The service was so good. The server's timing was perfect. She was available without being intrusive. Made great recommendations.

The only slightly negative point was that I did mention my mother's birthday when I made the reservation but they did not seem to remember so I had to tell the server.

Overall my best dining experience in the month of August 2012!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“On the best of Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Definetely a very nice place inside or in the terrace and food is absolutely great, salads are delicious and any other choice of the menu will make a wonderful meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwood also viewed

 

Been to Redwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.