We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnivores of the world - Unite!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Burger Joint

The Burger Joint
4827 Fairmont Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
(301) 358-6137
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 301 restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Frankfort, Illiois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Carnivores of the world - Unite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I've been meaning to visit BGR - The Burger Joint in my previous several trips to Bethesda, and finally had the opportunity to do so. I wasn't sure if this was a full-service restaurant, but knew that it served burgers and beer (what else do you need)?

The menu offers fare you'd find in similar hamburger chains (5 Guys, Meatheads, etc.) Not knowing what to expect, I ordered a double cheeseburger with the fixings. A pager is given to you upon ordering, buzzes when your order is ready.

My eyes bulged when I was served this masterpiece! I had to squeeze this thing to eat it, and as other reviewers note - it really was a great burger.

They had three brews on tap; unfortunately,the first two I ordered were "out" - nothing but foam! All in all, however, the Burger Joint more than satisfied my craving for a delicious cheeseburger.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    17
    16
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for a Quick Hamburger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

You have to place your order at the front and then wait for them to prepare it and then pick it up. Not a fancy place, but great burgers!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

An excellent burger. Highly recommended. For those who love very spicy food, get the "spice it up" option!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Feed that burger fix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great place to cure that burger craving. Sometimes a little poor on the service, but then this is not really a sit down restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, Usa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Burgers...Decent Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My father and I were looking for something different, and I happened to find this Burger Joint location online. The menu looked interesting and we decided to try it.

The location itself average and the atmosphere is that of a fast food resturant with and `80's theme which is at least intersting.

The burgers, however are very tastey and fresh. The fries are also good and I was impressed to find that they had a large selection of soda, and also had wine too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burger Joint also viewed

 

Been to The Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burger Joint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.