We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminiscent of Italy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Positano Ristorante Italiano

Positano Ristorante Italiano
4940 Fairmont Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
+1 301-654-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Damascus
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Reminiscent of Italy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to have perfect weather and loved our table on the patio under the grapevines and trellis. Service was very good and our dinners were great (Osso bucco was elegant)! I've eaten here before, but it's been a while. Great value! ...I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    36
    16
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“feel like you're in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have been to Positano many times over our 40 years living in the Washington area so I thought it was about time I wrote a review for them. Had lunch there yesterday with a friend and
was again reminded how relaxing their outdoor area is and how exceptional their Italian cuisine is. The restaurant is off the beaten track from the main Bethesda shops and restaurant area
and is quieter in feeling. The outdoor area is charming and great for a romantic evening. The area makes you feel as if you are sitting in a centuries old Italian spot, complete with pots of flowers and hanging grapevines. Very charming. Their homemade pastas are very delicate and their sauces are superb. Prices are very reasonable for what you get. Italian is my favorite cuisine, and I cook it myself quite a bit so I am fussy about it. This is our go to place for Italian. I don't think you will be disappointed!.
.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“delicious food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We sat out on the front patio covered with vines and had a lovely meal. The wine list had many great choices and all our meals were fantastic - great seasoning and sauces.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great restaurant for family occasion. Friendly to all ages. Amazing eggplant Parmesan and tiramisu. Attentive service and unbelievable prices. Unique spot for events.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
“Anniversary Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After extensive research, we finally decided to have our anniversary party at Positanos. I am sure glad that we did! From our very first meeting with Jimmy, (who refers to himself as the "Chief Everything Officer"), we felt at ease with the planning of the party, something that can oft time be a source of anxiety. Jimmy took us under his wing with suggestions regarding the menu, timing of the events during the party, location within the restaurant, and numerous other issues that always arise when having a party for 60 people.
We used the Old Positano Room and it was perfect. The Italian motif of the room is very welcoming and makes for a fun experience. The food was excellent. Among other entrees, we offerred Rockfish to our guests and received nothing but rave reviews from those who chose that as their entree. The service was also very good.
One of the criteria for chosing a location was the pricetag for the event. Positanos was very reasonable. For instance, there was no charge for the use of the room, the cost of the "adult" beverages was based soley on the amount consumed and the charge per person for the food was much less than required by other facilities, especially considering the quality of the food.
All in all, a wonderful evening.
We also ate several meals at Positanos prior to the event and tasted various alternatives to offer to our guests as entrees. Not an easy decision as everything we tried we liked...chicken piccata, various veal meals, filet mignon, the sauces.
I would highly recommend Positano's to anyone, whether it be for an evening out or a large party... the food is excellent, the atmosphere is inviting and the price is right.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Positano Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Positano Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Positano Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.