We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Positano Ristorante Italiano

Positano Ristorante Italiano
4940 Fairmont Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
+1 301-654-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
1 review
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great restaurant for family occasion. Friendly to all ages. Amazing eggplant Parmesan and tiramisu. Attentive service and unbelievable prices. Unique spot for events.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    36
    16
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
“Anniversary Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After extensive research, we finally decided to have our anniversary party at Positanos. I am sure glad that we did! From our very first meeting with Jimmy, (who refers to himself as the "Chief Everything Officer"), we felt at ease with the planning of the party, something that can oft time be a source of anxiety. Jimmy took us under his wing with suggestions regarding the menu, timing of the events during the party, location within the restaurant, and numerous other issues that always arise when having a party for 60 people.
We used the Old Positano Room and it was perfect. The Italian motif of the room is very welcoming and makes for a fun experience. The food was excellent. Among other entrees, we offerred Rockfish to our guests and received nothing but rave reviews from those who chose that as their entree. The service was also very good.
One of the criteria for chosing a location was the pricetag for the event. Positanos was very reasonable. For instance, there was no charge for the use of the room, the cost of the "adult" beverages was based soley on the amount consumed and the charge per person for the food was much less than required by other facilities, especially considering the quality of the food.
All in all, a wonderful evening.
We also ate several meals at Positanos prior to the event and tasted various alternatives to offer to our guests as entrees. Not an easy decision as everything we tried we liked...chicken piccata, various veal meals, filet mignon, the sauces.
I would highly recommend Positano's to anyone, whether it be for an evening out or a large party... the food is excellent, the atmosphere is inviting and the price is right.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice Italian feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Interesting place. Sat outside and had some authentic Itslian cooking. Not mind blowing, but worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We shared dinner with four other friends who all remarked what a pleasant experience it had been. None of us had ben here in years. The food and wine was very good. We will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended for special events!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We are so glad we hosted the rehearsal dinner for my son’s wedding at Positano’s. The evening definitely couldn’t have been better, In the planning stage, the owner, Jimmy Traettino, responded to our every question, offered excellent advice (when asked) and helped us with every preparation detail. The night of our event, he made sure that things flowed smoothly all evening. The hors d’oeuvres, the entrees and the desserts were all excellent. Many of our guests commented on how much they enjoyed the festive atmosphere (our event was in the Old Positano Room), the food, the wine and the attentiveness of the staff. I had looked extensively in the Bethesda, Gaithersburg, Rockville area for a rehearsal dinner venue and I really don’t believe you could find a better place. I highly recommend Positano’s. You won’t be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Positano Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Positano Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Positano Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.