We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inauguration Day 2013 Supper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Positano Ristorante Italiano

Positano Ristorante Italiano
4940 Fairmont Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-6023
3016541717
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #15 of 292 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
“Inauguration Day 2013 Supper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

On our way back to the Bethesda Naval Lodge from Inauguration Day 2013 festivities, we decided to continue our celebration with a fine Italian dinner. We chose "Positano Ristorante Italiano" based on name and location, and were rewarded with an outstanding dining experience. We were greeted, as we later learned, by the daughter of the owners and were treated as though guests to a lovely home. The food was amazing and the service "top shelf." We felt quite at home and were extended every courtesy. This is a very fine restaurant which is well staffed and managed. The menu selections and the wines we chose were outstanding. Our visit to Positano Ristorante Italiano capped the perfect evening to a perfect day!
Dr. Rick, North Carolina

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    62
    28
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenbelt, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Business Holiday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

As the activities coordinator at my job, I am constantly on the lookout for new and fun places to have office parties. A co-worker recommended this restaurant so we decided to have our party at Positano this year. It carries a classic italian look with murals of Italy on many of the walls and is a beautiful restaurant. The restaurant has several party rooms for both large and intimate parties as well as a regular dining room. This year our party hosted 94 people and there was room for a 3 man band as well as a photo booth for fun pictures. The decor for our party was elegant, warm and very inviting. The wait staff was wonderful and kept everything flowing smoothly all evening, from the serving of hors d'oeuvres to the main entrees and dessert. They were efficient, kind, and professional. For our entrees we chose 3 selections; the Manicotti, Chicken Parmigian, and the classic Italian & Meatballs. The food was fantastic and everyone enjoyed their meals. Everything was served on time and was fresh and hot. Our head waiter, Jaime, was fantastic and working with Jimmy, the owner, was great. We could not have asked for a better party. I definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I Truely a great time I went with my family for a lovely peaceful dinner. They had great hospitality felt we where at home. Very good crispy calamari for appetizers and great pasta dishes too over all a lovely place

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best traditional italian restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you are craving some traditional italian food this is the place to go. Fantastic food, great atmosphere and flawless service. Best Italian restaurant in the bethesda area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mclean
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for rehearsal dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our son had his rehearsal dinner in the Old Positano Room at the Positano Ristorante in Bethesda, Md., mid-November, and it was perfect!
The service and food were excellent, and the first-floor room is private (door closed to restaurant) -- that allowed for mingling and talking without bothering others. There is a bar and dining space for more than 100 people at round tables of 8-10. Wine prices are quite reasonable. It exceeded our expectations.
The pasta is homemade and should not be missed! Thanks for the memories!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Positano Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Positano Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Positano Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.