We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Positano Ristorante Italiano

Positano Ristorante Italiano
4940 Fairmont Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-6023
3016541717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Wonderful Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We met another couple here for a casual dinner and left VERY impressed! The food was excellent, the service was superb and the ambiance is very comfortable and quite beautiful!! There was absolutely no pressure to leave our table. We stayed for almost an hour after dinner just chatting it up with old friends. The owner/manager even brought us a free shot of limon liquor before we left. It is a true Italian-style restaurant. Laid back and very easy to have a great time. We will be back many times, I'm sure!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    33
    14
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darnestown, Maryland
1 review
“A Most Pleasant Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We (my wife and I) dined at Positano Ristaurante Italiano on a Saturday evening in April. We were promplty seated in a very comfortable corner banquette in an elegant dining room. We had a superb waiter who did not rush us, which is not the norm in Washington area restaurants. Our meals were superb and reasonably priced. In all I would have to say the evening was a delight.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
“Fun & Friendly -- Great for Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I think about the veal piccata even when I'm not at the restaurant. And the fresh vegetables that come with it are done to perfection. When friends and family are in town, Positano's is our first choice. We've dined there on New Year's Eve, Grandma's birthday, graduation, and any other excuse we can come up with. We are always greeted in a friendly, even humorous, way, shown to a comfortable table, and waited on very professionally. The staff are always there when you need them and yet they are never intrusive. The arrival of dishes is well timed, and there's a general air of organization and efficiency. The ambiance is that of a excellent neighborhood restaurant in Italy, and it's a wonderful place to drink wine with friends while browsing the menu and to linger over coffee and dessert after dinner.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The biggest shrimp i have ever seen in a restaurant!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Family owned and operated..... glad to support these guys! Where do these get these shrimp? Best italian food in bethesda!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Comfortable Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Positano Ristorante Italiano is a gem of a restaurant with a beautiful, comfortable courtyard ideal for lunch or evening dining. The service is friendly and efficient and the food consistently good.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Positano Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Positano Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Positano Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.