We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem slightly off the beaten path” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guardado's

Guardado's
4918 Del Ray Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2512
301-986-4920
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Guardado's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Tapas, Salvadoran
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Old Georgetown RD
Transit: ride-on 34
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A hidden gem slightly off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Guardados is in the Bethesda triangle, but pretty much at the edge of the restaurant area. We go there for lunch often, and it is quiet and welcoming. The waiter Tomas is great when asked for recommendations. There are luncheon specials (something new - under $10 and sometimes $7 or $8), but the regular lunch prices are relatively inexpensive even if you don't order one of the specials. The food is excellent, and pretty much prepared after you order (not ahead of time). The chef will make minor changes (e.g. using mushrooms instead of peppers). The staff is friendly, helpful, and efficient. I was told that they are very busy Friday and Sat nights, and they have live music (guitar) one night per week (Thursday, I think). I strongly recommend this if you are really hungry and want very good value for money. I personally like the Casear salad plus a sandwich, but usually have to take 1/2 of the sandwich home for dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, Maryland, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding Paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My husband, some friends and I were looking for a place for a night out for dinner and came across Guardado's on Open Table. We usually go to a steak place but wanted something different this time around.
We were very pleasantly surprised by Guardado's. The drinks were great - especially the sangria and mojitos. The mango mojito was phenomenal. We had some tapas and paella. The paella casera was really good. We got both the marinera and casera. The marinera was great and had a ton of seafood in it but we really liked the casera - the chorizo made it very flavorful.
The only thing that was a liitte bit of a downer was the service. It was not a very busy night but we did not see our server much. Maybe shorter staffing due to it being the holiday season.
Overall, a very good experience. We will be back!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great, Low-Key Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Have been enjoying Guardado's since its opening and have never been disappointed. Excellent and diverse tapas, including a good range of seafoods, meats and vegetarian-- the shrimp tapa is addictive and I'm very fond of the vegetables with chorizo. Salads and cheeses are most enjoyable, too. Cocktails, sangria and wines are excellent and well-priced. Overall pricing is excellent and the space, while modest, is welcoming. Guardado's isn't fancy, but it more than delivers on satisfaction and value-- have never had a bad meal here and have always had a good time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Intimate, low-key place on the "other" side of Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This little place was recommended by friends who live in the neighborhood. We stopped in before heading to the movies for a bite to eat, not expecting anything much. And we were very pleasantly surprised. We ordered a half-dozen or so tapas, and all were very well prepared. The waiters are extremely friendly, and will give you their opinion on what to order if you ask. The wine was good, and it was extremely reasonable. It was a nice departure from all the trendy new spots opening up in DC (I'm not complaining) - just a cozy, understated spot, with solidly good food. I will definitely go again when I'm next in the neighborhood.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just don't go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is a dump. Walked inn at 6ish and there was not a soul in the place. The hostess was terrible. We showed her a belly deal which was set to expire a week from that point and she snared saying in a very snobbish tone "we don't accept that anymore". She hands us the happy hour menu which was printed on a wrinkled piece of printer paper. She continued to give us dirty looks until we decided to leave. I was disgusted with this place because it makes me angry when the purpose of a hostess is to serve you and make you feel welcome. She managed to completely invert that to the extent that it be and a chore to stand there another second. Just don't go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guardado's also viewed

 

Been to Guardado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guardado's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.