We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Street Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guardado's

Guardado's
4918 Del Ray Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2512
301-986-4920
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 292 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Tapas, Salvadoran
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Old Georgetown RD
Transit: ride-on 34
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Back Street Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Good little Spanish (not Mexican) place - had black paella which was excellent! Good value at happy hour. Ordered from daily special menu. No al fresco which would be a plus. Wouldn't find without TripAdvisor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    22
    17
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding service; food was good but needed more seasoning.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Friends have ben recommending Guardado's' for a while and we went this week for the first time. Nice cozy place with outstanding and very friendly service. Food was good but everything we ordered (soup and 4 different tapas) needed more seasonin. We'll try again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Tapas in Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a small place, perhaps 20 tables. Husband is the chef, wife runs the front of the shop. You will not be disappointed and do not be afraid to ask for suggestions as to what to order. They have specials and an email promotion program as well. Easy parking in public garage across the street. A true gem!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Birthday and Anniversary !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hostess was absolutly just wonderfull she helped my husband make my experience amazingly just romantic. I loved everything from the entrance greeting to the wonderfull food that was served. The hostess even gave us a great desert to share to top off our Anniversary/ my birthday dinner. Thanks to the everyone at this resurant for everything even taking care of my beautifull flowers my husband arranged to have there for me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Clearly a local favorite. Bowl of cheese and olives. Sauteed spinach with oranges was tasty. Fried squid was good. Plaintain with cheese and chicken was a bit bland for my taste, but my spouse raved about it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guardado's also viewed

 

Been to Guardado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guardado's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.