We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's all the hype??!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quartermaine Coffee Roasters

Quartermaine Coffee Roasters
4817 Bethesda Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Bethesda
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Coffee & Tea
Restaurant details
Dining options: Coffee & Tea
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What's all the hype??!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Below average coffee!! I was BUMMED that the Dunkin Donuts in Bethesda was closed so, against my gut instinct, I walked across the street to Quartermaine. I ordered an iced hazelnut coffee. It was weak and diluted, HUGE disappointment. And the service was mediocre. Go 1 block down the street to Barnes and Noble.....the have a Starbucks upstairs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best Cafe Mocha Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

There should be a fee just to enter the place and breathe-in the wonderful coffee aromas that you'll find here. Each of its coffee drinks starts with its custom-roasted excellent coffee beans, so they all have a terrific head start.

But it's the Cafe Mocha here that excels above similar drinks by other vendors. Unlike most other places, they use pure chocolate -- not some pre-mixed chocolate milk. The milk foam is so creamy and thick that the surface of the drink looks like some sort of marble -- deep and rich cream with dark coffee swirled throughout. Almost a work of art too beautiful to disturb! But once you do, you'll find the most balanced and pleasing cafe mocha you've ever had. And it's why I can never pass by this place without ordering one!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Overall, mediocre experience...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Tried to find a place to get a good cup of coffee while in Bethesda for the art festival. And, I like to support small, funky, local businesses. So, we looked on TripAdvisor and found this place.

Pretty disappointing. Kinda felt like a chain - maybe like, Peets or something like that.

I didn't care for the coffee either. It was hot, however. And, that's a must. But, I just didn't really care for the atmosphere or the coffee.

Overall, a mediocre experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Local, great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Better than Starbucks, staff have personality, & the Americana was done perfectly. Iced Tea solid. Go here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigi Kaltbad, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“The best cappuccino east of Milan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This locally owned fresh-roasted coffee serves the best flavor and best steamed froth. The owner arrives by bicycle. A physics expert roasts the beans. A future physician, daughter of the owner, serves the coffee. Ideally located at the edge of the bike trail. I've studies cappuccino from Tuscany to Bergen, and with the possible exception of Lauterbrunnen ,Switzerland , nothing comes close. Coffee flavor is a function of both taste and aroma. The beans are ground fresh in the store, enhancing the flavor. The staff is friendly, efficient, and wonderful. The customers range from national celebrities, to retired travelers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quartermaine Coffee Roasters also viewed

 

Been to Quartermaine Coffee Roasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quartermaine Coffee Roasters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.