We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left much to be desired; needs renovations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton College Park North Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton College Park North Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton College Park North Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4095 Powder Mill Road, Beltsville, MD 20705   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Beltsville
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Left much to be desired; needs renovations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I gave this hotel 3 stars because the staff behind the desk tried to be very accommodating. In truth, Sheraton should remove their name from this hotel until renovations are done. We are SPG Gold Members so we have seen many Sheratons. The first room that we were given was disgusting. The carpets could not be walked on and also needed to be stretched because it was buckling in many places. There also appeared to be mold on the walls. The elevator floors also looked like they haven't been cleaned in a long time. The good thing is that we were transferred to the SPG floor and given a suite. While the suite was much cleaner, it could still use some renovation inasmuch as the couch was stained and dirty. We only stayed in the hotel for a couple of hours given that it was just a stop off on our way South. Thankfully. I would have been much more disappointment.

Room Tip: 9th floor SPG Preferred was decent.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, Director of Sales at Sheraton College Park North Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am so sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We have undergone extensive cleaning of our carpets and have addressed all of the concerns that you have mentioned. I would love the opportunity to speak with you in person to make this right for you! Please contact me when you have a moment.

Yours in Hospitality,
Ellen Mullings
Director of Sales
emullings@sheratonwashingtonnorth.com
240.965.4228
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    44
    25
    18
See reviews for
44
26
17
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Floral Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had two rooms in August. We were on a trip to Washington DC, and it was a 20 min drive from the hotel. Our rooms were clean and well kept for the most part: I did notice the couch in our room was stained. Staff was very friendly. The pool was clean and maintained. We received hot breakfast for free though, and it were tasty: french toast, home fries, fruit, pastries. The restaurant staff was also friendly. All in all, I would stay here again, especially for the price: we paid half of what we would have paid in the DC area. The wi-fi isn't free, which I agree is an issue. It would also be nice if there were better offerings for the TV channels, as even the kids' channels were a premium.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, Director of Sales at Sheraton College Park North Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We look forward to you staying with us again the next time you are in the area.

I did want to mention that we do offer kids programming complimentary at the hotel. Nickelodeon, Cartoon Network and ABC Family are all complimentary. There is an option for additional children's programming which is $1.99 per day, which may be what you saw. This is for extra channels and movies geared towards children.

Please let me know if there is anything that I can do to be of service.

Thank you again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Ellen Mullings
Director of Sales and Marketing
emullings@sheratonwashingtonnorth.com
240.965.4228
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We selected this hotel because of location to a college we needed to drop someone off at. Albert on the front desk was the only thing good about this hotel. We had two rooms and both were filthy and carpets stained. Mold on walls and ceilings. The TV had great snow on half the channels. Rooms very disgusting stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, Director of Sales at Sheraton College Park North Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am so sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. I would love the opportunity to get more specific information on your stay when you have a moment. I want to ensure that everything is addressed for future guests.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Yours in Hospitality,
Ellen Mullings
Director of Sales
emullings@sheratonwashingtonnorth.com
240.965.4228
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stay at Sheratons across the country for business, but today after flying home I hit a roadblock due to a bad accident on 95. I had to prepare for a client call so I exited the highway and pulled into the Sheraton on Powder Mill Rd. I sat in the lobby area, worked on my mac to prepare for my meeting, and facilitated the call an hour later. The hotel staff was great - they left me alone to do my work and never hassled me as to why I was there. Thanks Sheraton Washington Hotel North!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, Director of Sales at Sheraton College Park North Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much for stopping by! We hope to have you stay with us the next time you are in town!

Take Care!

Yours in Hospitality,
Ellen Mullings
Director of Sales
emullings@sheratonwashingtonnorth.com
240.965.4228
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This Sheraton is a typical 3.5-star hotel.

Positives: Morning lobby coffee & muffins, afternoon lobby cookies

Biggest negative: As with others of a dying breed, this hotel continues to choose to irritate its guests with a policy of charging $9.95/day for in-room wifi. But, at least the lobby computers provide complimentary internet access.

Complaint: It took 2 calls to Guest Services & a half-hour wait to get the proper towels in the bathroom. Seriously, is there any valid excuse for Housekeeping not making sure the towels are correct before making the room avasilable?

Room Tip: Upon arrival, check the supply of towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, Director of Sales at Sheraton College Park North Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on your recent stay! I am so sorry for the problems that you experienced in getting proper towels in your room. This is completely unacceptable and I will share your feedback with our Management Team. I will also share with our team your dissatisfaction with the cost of internet access. Currently, the only complimentary internet access available at the hotel is at The Link which is in our lobby and in our Club Lounge. I apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused.

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything that I may do to be of service.

Have a great day!

Yours in Hospitality,
Ellen Mullings
Director of Sales and Marketing
240.965.4228
emullings@sheratonwashingtonnorth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have a disability and use a wheelchair. I have traveled to many venues and this hotel provided me with the best accommodations and best customer service I have ever encountered. Everyone at the hotel was extremely supportive and sensitive to my various needs. My food was pureed. I have poor circulation so the heater was adjusted in my individual room even in August!

They helped in securing ground transportation to and from BWI. I could not have been happier with my visit! I highly recommend this property for business!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, Director of Sales at Sheraton College Park North Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. It was our pleasure to be of service! I will share your comments with our entire team. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Have a wonderful day!

Yours in Hospitality,
Ellen Mullings
Director of Sales and Marketing
240.965.4228
emullings@sheratonwashingtonnorth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Pros: free parking. you can get a good deal if you book on priceline/hotwire. Overall, seems good for the price.

Cons: a bit out of the place, silver spring downtown might be more centrally located. can hear noises from highway.
if you are driving, it is *very easy* to miss the entrance to the hotel, the bad news is that if you miss the entrance, you immediately enter the highway, and you end up making a > 5 mile detour to get back to the hotel -- happened to me a few times.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton College Park North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton College Park North Hotel

Address: 4095 Powder Mill Road, Beltsville, MD 20705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Beltsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Beltsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton College Park North Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is just eight miles from downtown Washington, D.C. with the metro nearby, so you’re never far from the excitement that makes the capital area so great. Located along I-95 and within minutes of the Beltway, our convenient location is close to attractions in the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Historic Annapolis, and Washington D.C. We are equidistant from major airports—Reagan National and Baltimore-Washington International — and close to Greenbelt Metro Station, providing easy access to our nation’s capital.Our complimentary shuttle provides services within a 5-mile radius, including the University of Maryland College Park, USDA Beltsville Agriculture Research Center, FDA White Oak, Verizon Communications, and the many corporate offices surrounding the hotel. For those of you who choose to drive, we have an abundance of complimentary parking.From our lobby to our guest rooms and our restaurant, every inch of our updated hotel has been designed with your comfort in mind. Stay connected with our lobby business center, offering a secure and fun area to work or just hang out. Connect on our terminals or bring your laptop for complimentary High Speed Internet Access. Or, retreat to a chic and comfortable guest room outfitted with our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper® Bed and plush, all-white bedding. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center or take a refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor pool. Then have a drink or dine in style in our refined full-service restaurant, the Powder Mill Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sheraton College Park North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beltsville Sheraton
Sheraton Beltsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton College Park North Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.