We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite when visiting family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge

The Lodge
2119 Conowingo Rd, Bel Air, MD 21014
(410) 838-2240
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 117 Restaurants in Bel Air
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining style: Casual Dining
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Fort Lauderdale
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A favorite when visiting family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

The Lodge is my favorite place to go when visiting family in the Bel Air area. The atmosphere is great and the food is consistently good. There is not a huge menu but enough of a variety that there are options for everyone. On this last visit I enjoyed the crab cake dinner and the cream of crab soup which came with 1/2 of a soft shell crab.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

A ski lodge atmosphere.... complete with ski lift seats and taxidermy in an unexpected location.The hot crab dip and mussels as appetizers led to some not finishing dinner. Since we had an early spring snow and slush I opted for comfort food of pot roast...which served as dinner again courtesy of doggie bag.Not gourmet but a decent meal with no complaints from our party of 5. Excellent and personable waitress.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty nice..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

this is a nice place to go, it's very casual and the food is pretty good!! The service is not bad depending on your waitress. The drinks are pretty good, rustic atmosphere. It can get very crowded when a band is there so get there early.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good menu, horrible atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Went to The Lodge for dinner on a Friday night. What a nightmare. The layout of the restaurant is kind of weird - the front door is for the bar, the back door is for the restaurant. I'm not sure that there's really any difference. There was music playing (it was so loud not even sure if it was a band or DJ). People in the restaurant were screaming at each other to talk over the loud music - you could hear people from all of the surrounding tables who were trying to have dinner conversations. The open layout of the restaurant makes it impossible to separate the bar and music from the restaurant seating. The menu is quite extensive and had a lot of nice offerings - burgers, wraps, pastas and steaks/seafood and it was reasonably priced. I had grilled tuna that was very nicely prepared - but I'll never go back as the ambiance/atmosphere was horrible.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“I want to love this place...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I've tried to give this place so many chances because it is so nice on the inside but I always end up kind of disappointed in the end.

The hosting staff has been consistently aloof, like they are doing you a favor to seat you. The serving staff has always been excellent though!

As for the food... its ok. I can usually find something that I like at a place, and I've never had a bad meal but its never been very memorable either.

The spot is so nice I'd love for it to be that "go to" place to take friends and family for a meal and a few drinks but this is just not it.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.