We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian food option in Bel Air” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sizzling Bombay

Sizzling Bombay
2108 Emmorton Road, # 03, Bel Air, MD 21015
410 569 0148
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 136 Restaurants in Bel Air
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fine Indian Dining Restaurant. Huge Lunch buffet and Variety of kabob selection to choose from.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Indian food option in Bel Air”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The owners seem to be pretty good people, and my wife and I love indian. This is THE indian option in town. The food is pretty good. Being born english, I feel I am an afficionado in the curry world, and I love a good spicy curry. They tend to under spice the foods here, probably to make the american market happy, but overall the food is very good (you just have to ask for them to spice it up).
The service is impeccable, and it is a clean restaurant. I like this place a lot.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
belair
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“i really joy with this restureant & blace decurats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I were driving home from AC and were searching on tripadvisor for a place to eat. We finally decided on having the lunch buffet here... I'm definitely glad we stopped and we will make it a "regular" on our way home.

When you first walk in, I thought the buffet would be slim picking. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised. They had a large selection and the qualify was top notch. By far the best foods were the vegetable dishes.

Since I don't know all the names of the dishes, I would highly recommend this place and will visit again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nice comfortable atmosphere, good food, but waiters a bit slow and I do so hate to wait beyond what I believe is a reasonable time. Interesting lunch and weekend buffet as well. Once we arrived at 5PM on a week day when they officially open for dinner, and the heat was not on, cooking had not started. They offered too many excuses, such as, "it's only 5 PM, " etc. Dinner took forever, about 45 minutes waiting time. We never returned after that.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Even Better than Before...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We have eaten here several times the last couple of years. Last weekend we returned because the Indian food has always been decent. There is a smaller menu than in the past and the food was superb. The restaurant was closed for a short while some months back for remodeling and I believe there are new people in charge. We don't like our food very spicy hot and the kitchen was accommodating. We had chicken in a creme sauce and roasted vegetable (naveratan korma) dishes and both were outstanding. The Kashmiri Pulao rice with nuts, fruits and saffron is very nice side dish.The cardamon indian style ice cream is a real treat for dessert.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Good food, Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Finding "Sizzling Bombay" was not easy, tucked between a Vocelli's Pizza and Merle Norman's, but we were pleased with the spicy food (which they will adjust on a scale of 1 -- 10), cleanliness, and generous portions. We used the "Entertainment" card, which gives you $10 off, but we liked the meal enough to come back, even without the discount. We drove north on Belair Road, right onto Rt. 24, and eventually a left onto Belair Parkway South. Go past Arby's and many other prominent chain restaurants, and turn left, heading for Vocelli's (which you can see from the road). "Sizzling Bombay" is right beside it. Service was quick, efficient and very friendly. Prices are reasonable. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sizzling Bombay also viewed

 

Been to Sizzling Bombay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sizzling Bombay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.