We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel near Aberdeen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Bel Air

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Bel Air to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bel Air
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4170 Philadelphia Road, Bel Air, MD 21015   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bel Air
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great Hotel near Aberdeen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I have stayed here on two occasions in the last month. It provides standard accomodotions for Homewood Suites – Kitchen – full refrigerator, 4 place settings, basic cook ware, oven/stove, microwave. There is a fold-out coach and seating in a living room. There is a separate bedroom. The food is OK. They provide a full dinner as part of the room rate. It is typical institional food – canned vegitables, protein, starch. In many cases, I would get a salad at the hotel and then go out for dinner. But it is a great value to get dinner as part of the room rate (dinner is served only Monday-Thursday 5-7:30). The breakfasts are good. They have yogurt, fruit salad, oatmeal, cereal, bread products, and a hot dish. Not as good as Embassy Suites/Hilton Garden with the made-to-order Omelets, but better than Hampton Inn/Holiday Inn Express breakfast buffets.

The location is good – 1 minute from exit 80 off I-95. There is a good place to run or walk in a mature forest about 3 miles away at Stoney State Forest on the other side of I-95. There is also a neighborhood that is close that has 1-2 miles of sidewalks and greenways. There is a Pizza Hut, Cracker Barrel, and a Pub all within a quarter mile along Route 7 (walkable, but no sidewalks).

Room Tip: They do have some two bedroom suites. I received one for being a Hilton Honors member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    36
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
64
20
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River Alaska
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Alan at Homewood Suites in Bel Air, MD was wonderful in helping making our stay perfect. 2 of our children live nearby and we always try to stay in a hotel that has a pool for the grands to use while we are in the area. Homewood Suites was outstanding. Our suite was ever so comfortable and the grands loved the pool. We used the breakfast area to share our meals with the family and the staff was so helpful. I wholeheartedly say CHOOSE HOMEWOOD SUITES for a delightful stay!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Fantastic hotel- great customer service and the hotel itself was very nice. The woman at the front desk was friendly and helpful. I got upgraded to a two bedroom suite when I got there, pleasant surprise!! I love the fact they have free dinners on the week nights (I missed it - got there too late) and free breakfast as well. Really great hotel, if I am ever in the area again I will stay here with no doubt.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubois, Pa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We ahve stayed several times at Homewood suites in Bel Air. Each time we have had good experiences. The rooms are large and clean. The bathrooms are spacious and very clean. The full kitchens are a plus.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgnia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I always try to stay here when traveling to MD. The rooms are great, very large and comfortable. The staff has been awesome - Michelle was a big help on my last trip, she moved my room when there was an issue. Nothing but good things to say about the hotel and the staff! I will be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel this past weekend of October 28 & 29 based upon a scheduled baseball tournament at the Ripkin complex in Aberdeen, Md. Upon checking in late Friday evening, their room hold policy was absurd, my companion was asked to put down nearly $200 cash for incidentals as he did not have a credit card on him. As we checked in late Friday, my only request was to take nice hot bath. Get to room - no bath only shower. So we were actually given an upgrade with a jacuzzi in room. I look in bathroom, theres a tub in the bathroom. So we went from NO tub, to TWO.... ridiculous. The front desk person did not know how to use the shower hose on the jacuzzi tub as the lever actually was stuck and it just needed to be moved a little. Turns out the tournament was canceled...and we could have left, however chose to stay in turn giving them our business regardless. They should be thankful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Bel Air, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear R M,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize that you did not feel that our customer service met your expectations. It is our endeavor to make every guest comfortable during their stay with us. The original suite that you reserved had an oversized shower. Upon finding out your disappointment with the accommodations, we felt that offering you a complimentary upgrade to one of our most expensive suites went above a standard level of service. We would like to thank you for letting us know about the bath handle. We have since had our property Engineer service the suite.

As far as a deposit on the overnight rooms, it is a hotel policy that at check in guests must present a valid credit/debit card as some form of payment for their stay. We traditionally do not take cash payments or deposits, but made an exception since your companion's room was part of your team booking. His deposit was promptly refunded at check out upon payment for the suite.

It is unfortunate that the tournament was cancelled at the last minute. We do hope that in the future if Cal Ripken make up the tournament, you consider our hotel. We tried to assist your team make the best of the situation with our suggestions for local attractions and shopping in the area. If you would like to further discuss opportunities for better service, please contact us.

Alan Manandhar
Guest Services Mananger
Homewood Suites Bel Air/Aberdeen
4170 Philadelphia Road
Bel Air, MD 21015
Ph: 410 297 8585
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

This was a return visit to the Homewood Suites, Bel Air, MD. Convenient to both Bel Air, Aberdeen, and Edgewood. The rooms are clean, spacious, and homey. The staff was friendly and helpful. But what was really surprising was the complimentary dinner: it was very good, as good as food at any of the area restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Bel Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Bel Air

Address: 4170 Philadelphia Road, Bel Air, MD 21015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bel Air
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bel Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Bel Air 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels and Despegar.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Bel Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Bel Air Hotel Bel Air

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Bel Air, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.