We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new, but Not Very Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4216 Philadelphia Road, Bel Air, MD 21015   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bel Air
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brand new, but Not Very Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

The hotel was brand new, courteous staff, and decent location. The only downfall was that it was apparent that the room had not received a thorough cleaning before we arrived. There were footprints on the floors and hairs on the bathroom floor.

There are not many restaurants in the immediate area except for Cracker Barrel (which seems to be very busy) and Ruby Tuesdays.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
18
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mississmissi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

I never heard of this Holiday Inn brand hotel, but I made a reservation to try it out based on its location. The hotel has only been open for three weeks, which I didn't know till I checked in. I expected it to be clean and in good repair, what I didn't expect was the value for the money. I made an online reservation for a Queen room. When I got to my room, it was a King, but my rate was the same as for the Queen. I am not sure why this was, but I wasn't going to complain. The room was a studio suite, but the rate listed for a standard room is more than the studio suite. I couldn't believe it when I entered the room, which was a very nice size! There was a full sized refrigerator, diswasher, microwave and a little stove! The microwave may even have been a convection oven, since it had metal racks in it. The room includes a 32" Flat Screen TV and a DVD player. The bathroom was even a little bigger than normal for a hotel, and it had a big closet! Things just kept getting better when I went to the fitness center which is equiped with two treadmills, an eliptical trainer, recumbent bike and universal gym for weight training. There isn't a breakfast included, but the covenient 'pantry' is well stocked with items for breakfast, lunch, and dinner as well as snacks that are available to buy 24 hours a day. I can't say enough good about this hotel, when you pull in the lot, you might not think much of it, as the landscaping isn't complete yet, but when you get inside, you will be pleased! I highly recommend this hotel for value, convenience, and all the comforts of home!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

The Candlewood Suites Bel Air is a brand new hotel, open for only about 2 weeks as of when we stayed there. They have some outstanding introductory rates available, and the pleasure of being the first visitors in nice new rooms. There are some trade-offs for this privilege though, and some travelers may be less than thrilled with the hands-off approach of the hotel. Read on for more...

LOCATION:
The hotel is located immediately adjacent to I-95, making it easy to get on and off of the highway. There is a small shopping complex nearby, so stocking up on essentials and getting a bite to eat is pretty easy. The neighborhood includes a 24-hour Waffle House for those who want the occasional 3 AM steak... It is located approximately 30 minutes north of downtown Baltimore, and slightly more than an hour from Washington DC or Annapolis.

FRONT DESK / SERVICE:
The hotel's front desk is only open from 7 AM - 11 PM. Outside of those hours, they have a weird combination safe system in the entrance lobby, where you type in your last name and your check-in materials are waiting. The system isn't completely working yet, so we had to use the intercom to page the night attendant to let us in. So, as we discovered, there is someone on-site 24x7, even though they close the desk at 11 PM. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient, and took care of our needs adequately. If you're arriving after 11 PM, you may want to call in advance to let them know so that they can give you instructions.

ROOMS:
The rooms are brand new, and about what one would expect from an all-suites hotel. The single suites are pretty small, and come with a kitchenette area, featuring a microwave, 2-burner electric stove, refrigerator and a sink w/ disposal. The bathroom was sizeable and while there was plenty of hot water, the water pressure could have been better. The rooms are in fact SO new that they still smell slightly of paint and construction materials. It wasn't overpowering, but anyone with respiratory problems might want to give this place a few months to air out, since the smell was quite noticeable. The only other note is that the heating/AC is thermostat-controlled, but the builders chose to put the thermostat on the wall very near the blower, rather than by the entrance door. As a result, temperature control is a little flaky, since the thermostat registers changes long before the rest of the room stabilizes.

AMENITIES:
The hotel offers free wireless Internet, which was fast and had great signal strength. There is 24-hour coffee service in the lobby. There is a fitness center, which is open 24 hours. We didn't use them, but they make a point of telling guests that there are BBQ grills available on the property.

Maid service is apparently only performed _weekly_, and between guests. So take care of your towels, and don't just toss them on the floor. They won't be changed daily unless you request new ones.

In general, we were satisfied with our stay, and would recommend it to anyone with a need to stay in the area. Its distance from downtown, combined with the typically-insane traffic on I-95 during weekdays, make this a bit of a stretch for those in the Baltimore or DC areas for tourism. But the great intro rates and easy accessibility for those who need to be north of town make this as good a choice as the other standard and suites hotels in the area. Definitely worth a try if you've stayed in other nearby hotels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

it is a brand new facility so it was extremely clean and the rooms were worth the value. I am here for business often and have stayed at many other hotels in the area. I recommend this hotel over many others in the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Candlewood Suites Aberdeen, nice hotel with great value, for money very large room with good Bed, Clean room

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air

Address: 4216 Philadelphia Road, Bel Air, MD 21015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bel Air
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bel Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel APG-Aberdeen Edgewood-Bel Air, MD (I-95 Exit 80). The Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel is a member Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn (Express) & Staybridge Suites Hotels. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air offers apartment like suites to government, business, relocation, training & extended stay hotel guests requiring long or short term hotel or real estate accommodations. The Candlewood Suites Hotel is 6 miles from APG - Aberdeen Proving Ground, minutes from the HEAT Center, Cal Ripkin Stadium & Bulle Rock Golf Course (home of the LPGA Championship). Our hotel is 30 minutes from Downtown Baltimore, Baltimore Convention Center, the National Aquarium, M&T Stadium & Camden Yards. The Candlewood Suites is also 35 minutes from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our pet friendly hotel (fee) features studio & one-bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV with DVD, free high-speed wired/wireless Internet access & two phones with voicemail. Other apartment like conveniences include 24 hour business center, free Internet access, complimentary guest laundry facilities, fitness center, video library, & outdoor gazebo with BBQ grills. Our Hotel also features the Candlewood Cupboard Convenience Store open 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air Hotel Bel Air
Bel Air Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.