We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Roomy Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4216 Philadelphia Road, Bel Air, MD 21015   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bel Air
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean, Roomy Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a road trip, my husband and I stayed at Candlewood Suites in Maryland. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We were only staying overnight, but felt that the room would be great for a longer stay as well. It has a refrigerator and stove, a comfortable bed, and a nice bathroom. There is a snack room in the lobby, and we were given a coupon for $5 toward any snacks. The front desk staff were very friendly and we felt quite welcome for our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are passing through Maryland, and it is conveniently located right off of I95.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
15
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my second stay at a Candlewood. The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Overall it was a great value. The decor was a little dated compared to the previous Candlewood I stayed at. Overall it was very good.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Lram1974,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Clean and friendly is what we strive for. We hope that you choose to stay with Candlewood again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Va
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was just a one night business layover. Check - in was smooth and when the TV remote didn't work, it was replaced promptly. Smaller room but sufficient. There was a full refrigerator, two burner stove, microwave, dishwasher and sink. I was on the backside of the hotel which was a little loud due to interstate proximity. Decent overall however.

Room Tip: Close to interstate so it's a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the review, sir! We appreciate it and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to the area (we will be sure to get you a room on the opposite side of the hotel).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My criteria for any Hotel is all the same. It must be clean, comfortable & quite. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. It had a full size refrigerator which was noisy but as I was not using it for my one night stay , I just unplugged it. Lack of bkfst was a negative but Cracker barrel is just next door. I only stayed here because my buddy travels with a dog and its a pet friendly hotel. If not for the dog issue I would have picked a different establishment.

Room Tip: I had an odd numbered room which faced the highway. Get an even numbered room and you will have les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you felt we met nearly all of your criteria when travelling. We aim to be clean and comfortable. We are sorry that we do not offer a breakfast in the traditional sense, as we do not have a restaurant and/or lounge. We do, however, have the Candlewood Cupboard with many items, including breakfast, for purchase with complimentary coffee and fruit. And, as always, we love all pets and they are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I've read some of the other revues and I don't get the hate. Granted it's not the Four Seasons but it was the only sub $100 / night hotel when I was booking. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The full size fridge and kitchenette was a pleasant bonus. The staff was friendly and helpful. Since we are gone well before the normal hotel breakfast hours the lack of breakfast wasn't an issue. The bed was a little hard and we would have preferred a king but due to the renovation / reconstruction none were available.

The only thing we had an issue with was the room got very warm around 1am both nights as if the HVAC was on some kind of shutdown schedule. Cranking the thermostat down to 65 solved that issue.

I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Michael F,
Thank you for the kind review, sir! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We booked this hotel before we knew they had a fire and renovations had not been completed. There were holes along the baseboard in the hotel hallway, we were on the 3rd floor. The bed was so uncomfortable we did not get any sleep. The staff was friendly but my husband and I just could stay there, had planned 3 nights, checked out by 0730 after a sleepless isn't. For the rate they charged they should have informed us that was why they did not have any king rooms available.

Room Tip: Call first before booking. Ask about any fires and if improvements have been made.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Shoytster,
Thank you for the review. We are so sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay. Yes, we did experience a small fire a few weeks ago, which resulted in some water damage that required some minor renovations. The work is being completed now. Also, several of our king rooms have been affected by the water damage, which is why none were available when you checked in. We are very sorry for that inconvenience. We will look into replacing the mattress you felt was uncomfortable. We do our best to provide a clean, comfortable environment for all of our guests and do hope that you choose to stay with us or another Candlewood again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This place is a dump. Stayed here during a business trip with many other colleagues. We all had the same complaints: noisy appliances, bugs (not bed bugs at least), lack of service, and no breakfast of any kind. There are better options.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Steve C,

We are so very sorry that you were not pleased with your experience during your stay with us back in April. We do our best to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for all of our guests. It is part of the Candlewood model to not offer a typical breakfast option as an extended stay hotel where every room comes equipped with a kitchen. We do, however, have the Candlewood Cupboard, which is a small shop located in the lobby and offers complimentary coffee and fruit as well as many other items for purchase, including a variety of breakfast items. We do hope that you give Candlewood Suites a second opportunity in the future and look forward to seeing you then.

Sincerely,
Steve Lipman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air

Address: 4216 Philadelphia Road, Bel Air, MD 21015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bel Air
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bel Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel APG-Aberdeen Edgewood-Bel Air, MD (I-95 Exit 80). The Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel is a member Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn (Express) & Staybridge Suites Hotels. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air offers apartment like suites to government, business, relocation, training & extended stay hotel guests requiring long or short term hotel or real estate accommodations. The Candlewood Suites Hotel is 6 miles from APG - Aberdeen Proving Ground, minutes from the HEAT Center, Cal Ripkin Stadium & Bulle Rock Golf Course (home of the LPGA Championship). Our hotel is 30 minutes from Downtown Baltimore, Baltimore Convention Center, the National Aquarium, M&T Stadium & Camden Yards. The Candlewood Suites is also 35 minutes from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our pet friendly hotel (fee) features studio & one-bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV with DVD, free high-speed wired/wireless Internet access & two phones with voicemail. Other apartment like conveniences include 24 hour business center, free Internet access, complimentary guest laundry facilities, fitness center, video library, & outdoor gazebo with BBQ grills. Our Hotel also features the Candlewood Cupboard Convenience Store open 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air Hotel Bel Air
Bel Air Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Aberdeen - Edgewood - Bel Air, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.