We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Neck Inn

Save Saved
You added Stage Neck Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stage Neck Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Stage Neck Road, Route 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in York Harbor
Amherst, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed at Stage neck Inn several times over the last 10 years; and every time we return, it's a special experience. The location is breath taking, especially during an ocean storm, the facility is imaculate, the food is excellent, and the staff very accomodating. We arrived mid week on a cold November day. Our ocean front room overlooked storm driven waves that pounded on the rocks right below our room. There was a roaring fire in the large lobby fireplace where we sat and enjoyed their freshly made chocolate chip cookies and hot cider. It was nice to see Mark Foster, Stage Neck's owner, and chat with him about the property. Mark is a consumate professional who is dedicated to putting out a quality product every day. He does not compromise and it shows. If it's a relaxing experience in a beautiful location that you're looking for, head to Stage Neck Inn. We will continue to do so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit. It is nice to know that you have stayed with us many times over the years. We really do appreciate your patronage. We also appreciate all your great feedback. As for the owner of the inn, he is definitely dedicated to providing a quality product. With the constant upgrades and the fact that he keeps improving the accommodations, etc. it is no doubt that we have become a popular destination. Of course, the lovely location of the inn and the views speak for themselves.

I am glad that you will come back and visit again in the future. Thanks again for your kinid words.

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    45
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
56
106
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

With a view of the Atlantic Ocean on the East, and lobster boats a short distance away on the York River view to the South, the inn enjoys the absolute Best Location. And it is also as hospitable a getaway as can be found anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your review of the inn. So glad that you enjoyed the hospitatlity. We pride ourselves in providing the best in Maine hospitality, and we so enjoy knowing that we made your vacation memorable. Here's hoping to have you as guests again in the near future.

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

When you arrive at Stage Neck Inn the desk personnel is friendly and helpful. Our oceanview room was spacious and clean. There is a charming common area where you may have hot beverages, a cookie in the afternoon and lively conversation with other guests. There are two restaurants served by the same kitchen. Harbor Porches is provides an ocean view while the Sandpiper Grille is a cove view. Delightful surroundings along with most helpful and gracious staff in dining room and bar. Food was delicious for all meals. Great hot breakfast and very dinner menu. They have a plan that includes dinner which is a good buy. No refrigerator in room. Otherwise a wonderful first experience. We hope to visit again. They have many repeat clients. I can see why.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your review of the inn. The ocean view rooms are, indeed, lovely. So happy that you enjoyed the food and the staff. As for a refrigerator, we do have one in all the closets of each guest room. Unfortunately, you must have missed seeing it.

We hope that you will return in the future. Thank you so much for staying with us!

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Stage Neck Inn is the ultimate Maine vacation/weekend getaway spot. The view from our oceanfront room was breathtaking. Only about 20' from the handrail and the beautiful rocky shoreline. Phoebe (the General Manager) and all of the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We ate several meals there and all of them were excellent. The central meeting/fireplace area was a spot to have coffee/tea along with cookies in the afternoon. It became a very cozy place with the fire going in the evening to enjoy an after dinner drink. We saw a lot of people enjoying the indoor pool and spa also.

They give you 2 half price drink tickets for every night that you are staying to use at the Sand Piper Bar. It is a really nice place to get to meet the friendly bartenders and the other guests.

It was our best vacation ever. We will definitely be back next year!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront and Harbor View rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNIgm, General Manager at Stage Neck Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback! So glad that you enjoyed all that the Stage Neck Inn has to offer. Our new renovated indoor pool has sure been such a wonderful amenity for our guests, and our spa is very popular, as well.

It is so "heart warming" to know that your stay with us was your best vacation every!! We look forward to your return next year!

Phoebe Pressey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived in a rainstorm and were so glad to find how welcoming this place was. Nice room, with everything you want plus a great view over the bay. Beautifully quiet with the sea lapping against the shore. The food was excellent and the staff were really friendly, with Jason in the morning a real eccentric superstar. I can see why they get regulars coming back. Great old fashioned service, like newspapers outside in the morning, and what a New England hotel should be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Besides outstanding meals and immaculate rooms, I've found that the staff goes out of their way to be there for you in every way. The ground level rooms (don't know about other rooms on other floors) have dehumidifiers in them, so that the humidity is extremely comfortable without running an A/C all the time. The indoor pool is on this level and there is no smell of chlorine outside of the pool enclosure. Extra towels, etc., are readily available for rooms. A warm fire, (in cooler weather) hot cider, as well as tea, coffee and delicious baked cookies are waiting for you each afternoon. Beds may be a bit firm, but this seems to be the case in most hotels. Views of the ocean, etc., are outstanding.

Room Tip: A tip for smokers...this a "completely" non smoking hotel, even outdoors on the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Did not stay, but lunch was delightful. Water view is 270 degree and feels like you might be anchored in a small cove. Bloody Mary was excellent, lobster roll was tasty and reasonably priced. This is a great place for a traditional lunch in a more elegant surrounding than paper plates and plastic utensils. Maybe because it was a slow day food arrived quickly. Service was attentive and professional.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stage Neck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Neck Inn

Address: 8 Stage Neck Road, Route 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stage Neck Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stage Neck Inn is situated on a peninsula, surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, The York River, and York Harbor. One of only 13 properties in the country to have consistently earned AAA’s Four Diamond Award since 1976, there are extensive amenities for the size of the resort … indoor and outdoor pools, a beach, clay tennis courts, 18-hole golf, a day spa, two restaurants, lounge, and deluxe guest rooms with private baths and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Stage Neck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Neck Hotel York Harbor
Inn Maine Neck Stage York
Stage Neck Inn York Harbor, Maine
Stage Neck York Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Neck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.