We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Neck Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stage Neck Inn to your Saves list
Stage Neck Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Stage Neck Road, Route 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for our 10th anniversary for 2 nights. Lovely location, very picturesque and calm. Great views of the water from the dining room. The breakfast buffet (included with our stay) was delicious. Dinner was also excellent with live piano. The staff were very friendly and professional. Room was nice, although I wish a king bed had been available as the 2 full beds seemed rather small (my husband is 6'2") - but we booked a special rate through Jetsetter.com, so I knew going in that we had the smaller beds - no big deal.

The only downside was that in the space of 2 days there were several wedding receptions + 1 wedding/reception combo that cycled through the hotel. This made for a lot of noise in the hallways (loud talkers) and outside the hotel, crowded parking etc. However, this did not detract significantly from our enjoyment of our anniversary. I can see why people want to have weddings/receptions here. It's a beautiful venue.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    55
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
70
128
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were there about 20 years ago and often said we should go back to the area and hotel due to the pleasant (but foggy) memories. We were not disappointed. Room was nice, the entire facility well maintained and geared to allowing guests a most relaxing and luxurious experience and views. The staff were great, especially in the restaurant. The restaurant food was outstanding and the ambiance and view were fantastic. As a bonus, the piano player was at dinner was truly phenomenal. There are large numbers of hotels/motels/resorts in this easy to get to part of Maine but I cannot imagine any that come close to the Sage Neck.

Room Tip: "Beach Side" does overlook the parking lot but is still quite quiet and does have pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The chef this summer is their best one ever and we have been eating here for years. The haddock with panko crumbs and a hint of horseradish was delicious. Sweetbreads and pork bellies were amazing appetizers. Everyone was raving about their choices. Can't wait to return to try the scallops.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We did a girlfriend getaway at the Stage Neck. It is such a warm and friendly hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean, free wireless internet, complimentary tea & cookies by the fireplace in the afternoon, drink coupons and wonderful breakfast buffet included. All in all a relaxing and "pampering" experience. The Stage Neck is right on the water and the views are terrific.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Fantastic inn away from the concrete jungle. We had a walk-out verandah right off an inlet where we enjoyed our evening beverage and morning coffee while watching the tide come in or go out. Service was outstanding - they prepared two small carafes of coffee - one decaf - for us with cream & sugars when we asked if we could take some back to our room in the evenings, no questions, no complaints, no hesitation. Front desk staff, breakfast & beverage servers were very friendly and the breakfast buffet was divine. As a breakfast fan I loved all the choices! Location is perfect - in the small village of York, off the beaten path. Highly recommend. Hope we can go back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor have a walk-out verandah. Upper level rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had a great time spending 4 days at the Inn, taking advantage of their mid-week special. A wonderful 4 course dinner and breakfast were included in the price. It was a wonderful break from work. The facilities are charming and the ocean view from our room was spectacular. They have a nice gym, small indoor pool to enjoy this time of year which was recently redone. Spa services were available but we enjoyed the small shops in York, Ogunquit and Wiscasset during the day.

Room Tip: The corner oceanfront room was on any floor would be great. Rooms with River views were also quiet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My friend and I had a great relaxing "motherhood escape" 2 night stay with the mid week package that included a wonderful buffet breakfast spread of favorites inlcuding some tasty eggs benedict and a 4 course dinner that was amazing.
We had the butter poached lobster that was delicious one night and the filet mignon and haddock were also excellent.
The service and food servers at both meals were very friendly and knowlegdable with the history of the inn and the food served. Stage Neck was named after the staging of fish on the docks. There's also plenty of framed black and white photos around the hotel that shows the history of the inn and town.

We enjoyed the weather and hanging out on the adirondacks overlooking the ocean. It was nice to hear the ocean every night with our balcony sliders open. Everything was great. Our only complaint would be that we wished the bathroom door could stay open.
We will definitely come back with our family and more friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #302 overlooking the lawn w adirondacks and with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stage Neck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Neck Inn

Address: 8 Stage Neck Road, Route 1A, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stage Neck Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stage Neck Inn is situated on a peninsula, surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, The York River, and York Harbor. One of only 13 properties in the country to have consistently earned AAA’s Four Diamond Award since 1976, there are extensive amenities for the size of the resort … indoor and outdoor pools, a beach, clay tennis courts, 18-hole golf, a day spa, two restaurants, lounge, and deluxe guest rooms with private baths and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Stage Neck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Neck Hotel York Harbor
Inn Maine Neck Stage York
Stage Neck Inn York Harbor, Maine
Stage Neck York Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Neck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.