We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a keeper.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of York Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added York Harbor Inn to your Saves list
York Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 York Street, P.O. Box 573, York Harbor, York, ME 03911   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Cod
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is a keeper.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This review is based only on our two night stay (08/15 - 08/17/10, Sun-Tue). The negative reviews on this site steered me away from a small room in the older buildings so we spent a little more for a "luxury room" in the harbor Hill building and it was a good move. It cost more ($150 Sun, 199 Mon) but it was money well spent. The room was large enough for us; clean, well furnished, AC, quiet, Good view facing the park and the ocean beyond, and the free parking was only steps from our room.

The staff was helpful and courteous. Our waitress Danielle and bartender Clay were good humored, We ate once in the upstairs restaurant and once in the downstairs pub to our complete enjoyment.

We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    136
    42
    36
    19
See reviews for
67
312
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My husband and newborn stayed in one of the luxury rooms for three nights, they had a special going on during the first week in August. This "traveler's special" was not advertised online, so be sure to call the Inn before booking. The room was nice, jacuzzi tub was a great size and the king bed was super comfortable. They advertise a ocean view, but there are some very large trees that block the view, so if a view is important to you, don't pay extra to stay here. The location is great, walk across the street to the Harbor Beach, quiet local beach, lots of space.

We ate at the restaurant/pub one evening and had great service and food. The lobster flatbread was great and so were the clams. Live music throughout the week.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

York Harbor Inn ,Ellengent service, Best Gourmet Inn dinning in Southern Maine.Old wold charm with beautiful amenities * rooms over looking ocearn or gardens. We have stayed at York Harbor Inn over the years are experince has always been excellant Sunday Brunch a must ! Bsst Inn for a familyy event or weddding.Treated Wonderfully by all staff. Joan Reynolds

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alburgh, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We arrived at the Inn the afternoon of 08 August 10 for a couple of days for a mini-getaway with my hubby. The front desk staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area and gave us a couple of good hints. Our room (in the Main Inn), although small, was very nice and clean. The bathroom was incredibly small, but again, very clean. The inn is situated in a perfect area, across the road from the public beach and there are a couple of walking trails that are very nice. It is also out of the hustle and bustle of York Beach, but only a few minutes drive to get to the village center. Kittery and all the outlets are also only a short drive (10 minutes or so) away! The bed was very comfy! We didn't eat dinner at the Inn, however the breakfast was very good. Bagels, bread, English muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, and an assortment of fresh baked pastries. The coffee was hot and fresh. We would definitely stay at the Inn again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett RI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We just returned from a 4 day stay at the York Harbor Inn and was very satisfied with our stay, The morning breakfast was just enough to start the day and the lounge/bar downstairs was lively and serves excellent food. The bartenders were superb and make you feel at home. Access to the beach is another plus across from the Inn .. towels available upon request. Just a great Inn with a very axccomodating staff

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

If you are looking for the square rooms of new hotels with big bathrooms this will not be the place for you. This an older inn a very beautiful area of residential homes and other smaller inns and B&Bs. All 3 buildings are older buildings that have been nicely maintained but the layouts are quirky with eaves, narrow staircases with lower ceilings. We stayed in Room 18 in the Harbor Hill building. It had a beautiful view of the park and ocean across the street. Our bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. There was a fantastic sized bureau that we both were able to fit our clothes in and a closet. Flat screen TV was hung on the wall. To get to the beach you walked through the park and down the paths to the beach. It was very clean and there is a lifeguard on duty. The waves seemed very calm to me so good for kids. The restaurant and bar upstairs were nice and they have a neat bar downstairs that is made to look like the inside of a boat. The staff at this inn were all very friendly. Overall we had great stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed 2 nights. And if we hadn't made a nonrefundable advance payment, we would've left immediately. The room was cramped and dark, and smelled moldy and stale. They've added paint and granite, but failed to cover up that this is an old, run-down building. We had a queen bed in the main building with a "private" balcony and a beach view. The bed and linens were about the quality of what you'd find at a Motel 6. There is no privacy to the balcony at all, other than a railing running between each room. If you're looking to get to know your neighbors, you may enjoy it. Otherwise, steer clear! The staff were less than friendly. Stayed at much nicer hotels in the area with better views for much less. Would not go back!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to York Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Harbor Inn

Address: 480 York Street, P.O. Box 573, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — York Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Historic Oceanfront Inn has been featured on the Travel Channels "Great Country Inns". Award winning gourmet ocean view dining plus casual fireplaced Ship's Cellar Pub. Outdoor hot tub open year round. Many rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi spa tubs, decks and ocean vistas. Free Wireless Internet Access. Exquisitely decorated, fine dining, the perfect place to stay in Southern Maine. Complete conference facilities. One hour north of Boston. Near beaches, golf & shopping. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your York Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Harbor Hotel York Harbor
York Harbor Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.