We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprising Gem of an Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of York Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added York Harbor Inn to your Saves list
York Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 York Street, P.O. Box 573, York Harbor, York, ME 03911   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Surprising Gem of an Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I had never been to York Harbor. I was looking for a place to take my husband for his b-day that was different. We had been to Peaks Island, Ogunquit and Kennybunkport, Maine on previous b-day weekends and thought we'd try York Harbor this year. What a find!!! Beautiful Inn across the street from a large park and ocean cove. What we liked: No crowds, no shopping, gourmet food at the York Harbor Inn and the Stage Neck Inn, nice pub with music, kayaking center to rent boats, walking maps of the area to view harbor and homes with a string of foot bridges, ocean views and beautiful sunrises. And did I say NO CROWDS OR SHOPPING? They're all at York Beach! This place is a hidden gem for those looking to avoid tourism. We stayed in Room #5. It had a side view of the ocean at a reasonable price too (the country room rate). I took the recommendation from Trip Advisor room #5 and it was a good one. Overall, we were very happy with our trip. I would not recommend it to a family. It's pretty quiet. But for one with a good book, a pair of binoculars and a sand chair, this place was wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in the Main Inn. Romantic and beautiful. The first floor is where th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    136
    42
    36
    19
See reviews for
67
312
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you want a spectacular view, good food and friendly service, stay at the York Harbor Inn in York ME. You won't be disappointed. The hotel is right across from the harbor and the cliff walk, which was a delightful way to spend the day. I plan to return when I go back to Maine.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front for a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripdave
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Water front New England style Inn. Located in York, Maine, across from a pretty park overlooking a bay. Nicely appointed rooms, many with views. Some refreshing may be needed. Nice cold breakfast in a really nice breakfast room, also with water views, Friendly staff. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Very excellent Inn and restaurant, all self contained if needed. Great room and friendly service, this is the place to stay in York Maine! Beautiful ocean view, great beach across the street, perfect! We hope to revisit this winter, a great place to to rest up.

Four properties altogether, well kept antique houses converted the a fine B&B inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice less expensive room smaller but very comfortable and well done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is the third time I have stayed at the Inn. We decided to spend the night prior to going to Boston to fly out the next day. I love the charm of this old Inn. The rooms were small however, the beds were great. We spent several hours down in the bar having drinks and dinner. The bartender was friendly and the food was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I was lucky to find this beautiful inn. The service was great from the front desk, to the restaurant. Liam at the front desk was especially helpful. The inn is across the street from a small park and the beach. We had a clean and charming room that had a balcony with a side view of the water. There was a large porch with a better view available for all of the guests. The food and drinks in the restaurant were very good. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The York Inn in Maine was a very nice place. Our room had a view of the beautiful beach. The staff was very helpful. The Inn was very close to beaches and hot spots in the area. It is a nice place to relax.

Room Tip: Our room had a kind bed and a twin bed in a separate room. We also had a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to York Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Harbor Inn

Address: 480 York Street, P.O. Box 573, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — York Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Historic Oceanfront Inn has been featured on the Travel Channels "Great Country Inns". Award winning gourmet ocean view dining plus casual fireplaced Ship's Cellar Pub. Outdoor hot tub open year round. Many rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi spa tubs, decks and ocean vistas. Free Wireless Internet Access. Exquisitely decorated, fine dining, the perfect place to stay in Southern Maine. Complete conference facilities. One hour north of Boston. Near beaches, golf & shopping. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your York Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Harbor Hotel York Harbor
York Harbor Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.