We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop if you're passing by” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wiggly Bridge and Steedman Woods

Wiggly Bridge and Steedman Woods
Old Mill Rd, York Harbor, York, ME
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stop if you're passing by”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I read about the Wiggly bridge and happened to notice it while we were driving by. If I hadn't read the description (it's green and short), I'm sure we would have gone right by without knowing what it was.There was limited parking on the road and we were lucky to get a spot. It's a pretty enough view walking out over the water and fun to watch the teens jumping off the roadway bridge into the water. The Wiggly bridge was interesting in a quirky way. Very short but fun to walk over and interesting to see how it was constructed. We did the shorter loop through the woods rather quickly but found it somewhat unimpressive. Don't go too far out of your way to stop here but if passing by, definitely take the walk out.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice walk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

It was an Enjoyable walk with a scenic view. Watch out for traffic if crossing at the highway. Wear comfortable shoes ... I' only writing to make this review long enough to submit!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas, U.S.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wiggly Bridge a worthwhile stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had been coming to the York area for some time on vacation and heard about this but just drove by until the owner of the B & b *Morning Glory--take a look; it was great) recommended this for a quick walk. It was fun going over the bridge. Kids cant fall over by accident--they would have to willfully jump in; so its not dangerous unless you have a real thrill seeker of a child--and the water is not at all deep by the bridge. The walk in the woods is lovely. Cool on a hot day. Lots of bark on the walk. Some take the main trail and then walk back -- maybe 10-15 minutes. I have some walking problems given pain from complications of broken hip and it was really fine for me. I also took the optional trail back (so made a full circle in the woods). The optional trail gave a different view of a bay and homes and was a bit more challenging for the motorically impaired---up and down and more roots of trees visible on the trail so be attentive so you dont trip in spots-- be careful with children or older not so limber--- but I made it so come on folks, dont complain---and there was a different view. You are to stay on the trail because they are trying to reclaim the marsh---again, you can go to the beach to walk on the sand--let's not complain when restoration of the land is the reason for asking us to stay off the shoreline--so many other optons and dont we want it to be wonderful for a later trip to view the fully restored area? Its a calming and lovely view of the harbor and the boats, and quiet-- a family fishing off the bridge, someone taking their dog for a walk and a couple just taking a stroll. Very zen and I'll go back again. The bridge is also a good subject for pictures and fun to walk across.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Definitely wiggles...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Short little walk to the bridge - disappointed that there were so many signs about not getting off the path - would of liked to sit on the rocks or something - but basically you can walk on the path to the bridge, the bridge, and the trail through the woods. Can't tell how long the trail was - we thought about doing it but didn't know if it was a 20 min walk or a 2 hr walk - the sign really should show how far it is - We had small children with us - with no railing it was a little nerve racking... and the 2 year old did not enjoy the wiggling part when she took a few steps on to it.. Bottom line - it's cute and all, but really nothing to write home about!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Quick little stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Perfect little walk: we pretty much just walked over the bridge, took a few pictures and left. My friend, who is a local, suggested we NOT go in the woods because of the heavy tick population.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiggly Bridge and Steedman Woods also viewed

 

Been to Wiggly Bridge and Steedman Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wiggly Bridge and Steedman Woods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.