We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food but a little pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1637 at York Harbor Inn

1637 at York Harbor Inn
480 York Street, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
8003433869
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
1637 at York Harbor Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Orchard Lane, Rte. 1A
Description: The York Harbor Inn’s recently renovated restaurant- “1637”, offers wonderful ocean view dining in a landmark historic inn. Upon entering the dining room, you are welcomed to the past, present and future in both atmosphere and culinary art. Our menu, featured in Food & Wine Magazine, emphasizes native seafood, creatively prepared and artfully presented, as well as casual, contemporary cuisine. Menu highlights include our gourmet Flatbreads made with our own smoked sausage or fresh lobster meat, Lobster Tempura, a Ploughman’s Platter featuring house cured meats and homemade sausage, a Raw Bar menu featuring fresh oysters, shrimp, and clams, Corn and Lobster Chowder and our locally famous Seafood Chowder, as well as the best in steaks and pasta dishes. Our ocean-view piano bar has entertainment many nights of the week and Sunday Brunch is served year round.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“good food but a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our waitress came quickly, so we were not ready to order drinks or appetizers. She said shw would come back, and did, in only a few minutes. We said we needed a few more minutes. Oh, well. We didn't see her for over 20 minutes. I was just getting up to leave when she came back. We ordered fried calamari, and 2 beers (not a large choice of draft beers at all, but a very large wine selection), and also our dinner choices. The food was good, and the portions were plentiful. The waitress snafu was better after the initial "escape mode." Although there was a decent selection of entrees, it really didn't seem like a big enough choice. Overall, it was a good experience. But if you are looking for seafood, there are many, many other places

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    58
    17
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
“A lot for little”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I recently had lunch there. Ordered the seafood chowder. It tasted good, what there was of it. I chose a bowl instead of the cup; didn't realize it would be such a shallow bowl. The seafood promised?? Very little, and very small. I had never seen such tiny shrimp. The cost?? $8.95, way over-priced for what I got.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Early bird special-worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at the Inn, liked their breakfast and came back later for the 'Early Bird Special' If you want what's offered on the special menu and can be seated between 5:30 and 6 PM it is very good value at $18. The full menu looked very tempting but I was very happy with my choice.- excellent salad, mussels over pasta and a trio of sorbets. Seating with a view-- also nice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently York's best restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We are locals, so we naturally have our ups and downs with most places where we dine with any regularity. York Harbor Inn just never disappoints. We usually eat upstairs in the dining room but the pub is great too. Extensive menu, and everything we've tried has been excellent. The signature lobster flatbread pizza is spectacular. I am partial to their Vermont salad. Whether you have seafood or steak lovers, pasta or flatbread fans, everything is fresh and well prepared. The old New England dining room is elegant but not pretentious. The views down to the entrance to York Harbor are great. The veteran wait staff are pros. If you're there by 6, the 3-course early bird specials for 18.95 includes six entrees to choose from. Among 4 of us this week, we ordered three different entrees and everyone loved their choice. Sunday brunch is also outrageously good, but you won't eat the rest of the day. Keep up the great work!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We dined at 1637 at the York Harbor Inn given we couldn't get seating at the downstairs Ship Cellar Pub. The same menu is offered but in a much more formal setting. Nicholas, the waiter, was great. The corn and lobster chowder is my number one soup in the world! Try their homemade blueberry pie and their Downeaster flatbread... Phenomenal!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1637 at York Harbor Inn also viewed

 

Been to 1637 at York Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1637 at York Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.