We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B but a few issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Tanglewood Hall

Save Saved
You added Inn at Tanglewood Hall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
611 York Street, York Harbor, York, ME 03911   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Value Getaway Savings!
Ranked #1 of 5 York Harbor B&B and Inns
dresher, pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice B&B but a few issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for four nights with another couple. I booked here based on the many glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, and while I agree with much of what has been said, I do think there are some areas that could use improvement.

The good: the rooms are lovely, very spacious and well-appointed. The beds are extremely comfortable. There is not a lot of space to put away your clothes, though, so if you like to unpack keep that in mind. In fact, our friends' room, the Library, did not have a bureau or drawers at all. Our room, the Billiard Room, had a very small shower also, although the bathroom itself was spacious. Everything was immaculate in both the guest rooms and the common areas, with the exception of the patio furniture which was okay but could have been a bit cleaner. Su and Andy were very welcoming upon our arrival, and seemed knowledgeable about the area. The breakfasts were very good, and it was nice to have several things to pick from (granola, breads, fruit, cereal) in addition to the hot entree of the day. However, if you are staying for multiple nights, you should know that each hot entree choice is basically a variation on a casserole theme - bread pudding, french toast, quiche, etc. in a casserole dish. I thought all of them were very tasty, but it did get a bit repetitive by the fourth day. The location is excellent, both for York Harbor and for the entire south coast of Maine.

The less good: the "snacks" left out in the dining area were pretty pathetic - some stale goldfish crackers and pretzels, a canister of cookies that appeared to be store bought and was never replenished during our entire stay, and a small bowl of wrapped hershey's chocolates. It would have been nice to have some kind of fresh-baked cookies or muffins as well as maybe a bowl of fruit around when we returned from a long day of sightseeing. Of more concern, however, was the rather unpleasant vibe we got from Su and Andy by the end of our stay. They were very friendly and welcoming when we first arrived, as I had said above. However, they became less friendly and sometimes even rather rude once they realized that we had done a lot of research before taking this trip and had ideas already for things we wanted to do and see. They seemed almost to resent not being able to guide us in our daily activities. It got to the point that Andy would say things like "Why would you want to go there?" or "Well, I'm sure you already have your list for today" in a condescending tone of voice. I didn't notice them behaving the same way towards the other guests who were there during our stay, but it looked like each of those guests was relying mainly on Su and Andy for itinerary guidance. I realize that part of the appeal of a bed and breakfast is that the owners are often knowledgeable about the area, and we did ask for their help and suggestions about lots of things, but it really felt like they were annoyed by the fact that we already had some of our plans in place. And the bottom line is whether they actually were annoyed or not, we felt like they were, and it made our stay much less enjoyable than it could have and should have been.

Our stay here was more positive than negative, but I doubt that we would stay here again based on our lack of connection with the owners. I really don't like writing negative reviews, especially about such a personal aspect of an inn, but I think this is the kind of information that might be useful to prospective travelers. If you are planning to visit and are happy to just be guided by Su and Andy, I'm sure you will have a wonderful stay. But if you are a planner and have ideas ahead of time, you may not enjoy your stay quite as much.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sakkl, Owner at Inn at Tanglewood Hall, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
It is disconcerting to discover this review after being thanked by both couples when they left with hugs goodbye. It was evident from the start that L*6191 was an exceptional researcher who’d put a lot of effort into designing her trip. At first, we did enthusiastically share our knowledge of York and beyond, both positive and negative. We strive to be a forthright and honest area resource for all our guests, but have no agenda to push our personal preferences. In fact, we oft jokingly tell Southern Maine-savvy guests to tell us to “hush up” at any point if we’re overloading them with unsolicited info. And, as noted by our other TA reviewers, when we sense that guests would prefer a more unobtrusive presence, we do try to scale back our interactions.

A few days into the group’s stay, we made some minor suggestions that differed from L*6191’s pre-planned route to explore lighthouses in the Portland area. When it appeared that L*6191 seemed somewhat reticent to hear our alternative options, we instinctively felt that we should adjust our level of advice-giving to “not step on anyone’s toes”. However, we remained our usual friendly and conversational selves, never annoyed, and absolutely not resentful—freer to focus on guiding our needier couples traveling solo. When Andy said, “I’m sure you already have your plans for today,” he sincerely meant it in a kudos-kind-of-way. If we asked “What made you decide to go to Peaks Island, etc?” it was simply because we are naturally curious to learn about new places to visit. L*6191’s itinerary was by far the most innovative and well thought-out we’ve encountered, with lots of tales of inspired adventures after long days away exploring, and interesting ideas to pass on to future guests.

L*6191 is right: our complimentary snacks are not intended to be the highlight here, they are however, replenished each and every morning after being eaten the day before, but some times the ocean air can take its toll by day’s end; during our busy season we do serve “very tasty” family-style buffet dishes (never a repeat, even for guests who stay for a week) (we serve more individual fare during slower times); it would have been useful if this 1880s house had been built with more clothing closets, but The Library does not lack drawers as mentioned, and is indeed furnished with both a bureau and a large armoire with a very deep bottom storage drawer; the shower in the Billiard Room is a standard size single stall with a rainfall showerhead in an otherwise spacious bath; and our patio furniture did become a bit grungy during the soggy days of perpetual rain here in Maine.

We thought we had genuine conversations with these folks, not only regarding their daily travels, but personal experiences like the college application process, etc. We are still confused and saddened to have learned through this TA review that their experience here for whatever reason was not entirely enjoyable. We would gladly welcome both couples back in a heartbeat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    5
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DUBLIN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed two nights with Sue and Andy and really enjoyed our stay. They were helpful but not intrusive and suggested local spots of interest and then advised us on locations to visit for the remainder of our stay in Maine. Their Inn is warm and welcoming and their breakfasts on the front porch were a wonderful start to the day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

...with this B&B, there is always more to say. Last week marked my second stay at Tanglewood, and I was as enchanted by the house and its owners as when I was a mere neophyte just one year ago. The Library was lovely and cozy, and as well-appointed and ambient as the house entire. Su and Andy are simply marvelous. They were born to manage a B&B - with all the warmth, charisma and encyclopedic local knowledge that any guest could desire. This year I brought to the Hall a woman with whom I am so endlessly in love that to call her my "girlfriend" would be to make the Muses weep. We'd been dreaming for weeks about our sojourn in York, especially since the area was going to be new to her. Tanglewood was such a wonderful place for the two of us, and Andy and Su such wonderous hosts, that we've decided to make it our annual "tradition", and to escape to its calming embrace each year. From our entire day spent in the hammock on the front porch, to the resident (and minuscule) canine Kiko's crooked little grin, to the breakfasts that stretched to two hours of engaging conversation, Tanglewood is and was the ideal place for us to relax and to restore. I am consistently delighted with this Victorian homestead, and recommend it wholeheartedly to travelers of all stripes in search of a quiet glen, beauty-filled. A million thanks, as ever, Su and Andy!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

We recently stayed had a one night stay at the inn. We agree with most of the other reviews although 5 stars may be a bit much. The room was lovely, clean, and reasonably priced. Breakfast was delicious.
We had one issue with the innkeeper which left us very uncomfortable. We had brought a bottle of wine and decided to enjoy a glass out on their front porch. While I went inside to grab a couple of glasses, some other guests who were checking in, entered the house through the open door. My husband recommended that they ring the bell to let the owners know that they were there. He thought they had but a short time later the owner came out and "scolded" us for allowing these guests in and told us that if anyone else came while we were on the porch that we should tell them to ring the bell. Our thought was that if they knew they had other guests checking in, they should probably have the front door open and be on the first floor to welcome them. (they do ask for your estimated time of arrival when making the reservation) We felt that we should not have been reprimanded... It was not our "job" to tell anyone else what to do. We enjoy small inns and B&B's but based on this incident will likely not return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sakkl, Owner at Inn at Tanglewood Hall, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
We very much enjoyed chatting with these folks at breakfast the next morning and are sorry to learn that they did not feel at ease. And unfortunately it appears that their other experiences here in the York area did not improve according to three other reviews. But for the comfort and peace of mind of all of our guests, we have no intentions of changing our locked door policies.

Our home provides an intimate safe haven in the midst of a busy tourist area. Since this is a very spacious house without a formal front desk, we normally keep our front door locked, which requires all guests (arriving/inquiring without keys) to use the outside door bell for assistance. Upon discovering the front door left open and newly arrived befuddled guests wandering about (while we were working in our first floor kitchen in the back of the house), we did gently and politely remind this couple sipping wine on our front porch of the policies we’d reviewed earlier that day during their check-in; along with a caveat explaining that they were welcome to keep the door open, as long as they asked any new guests or tourists (randomly appearing during a hectic Saturday 3-7 PM check-in window) to simply ring the door bell before entering the inn, so we could properly meet and greet them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

My boyfriend and I went here for a birthday weekend getaway. We loved it. It was the perfect combination of personal space & graceful hosting. We stayed in the room down a level toward the front of the house, and it was really cozy. We ate chocolates and drank wine by the fireplace. We slept late in the comfy bed. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. We walked the cliffwalk, smelled the salt spray, and watched the sunset over the ocean. We had a nice dinner out at the Cape Neddick Inn. Thanks to the hosts Su and Andy for a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

What a wonderful and relaxing vacation we just experienced in York Harbor, Maine, made all the more so with our stay at The Inn at Tanglewood Hall. Su and Andy are most hospitable making you completely comfortable in their beautiful home. With a perfectly situated dining room taking full advantage of the winter morning sun, the “Eggs in a Cloud” were perfectly heavenly! It is always interesting to talk with them and to hear their stories about the surrounding area which they know so well. The peace of this area in the winter is extraordinary and highly recommended for those who would like to “get away from it all.” We also received a great tip from them on using our GPS to explore the not so well known areas of the beautiful Maine coast.
Wonderful conversations, great accommodations, terrific food – a perfect stay. This is our second visit with them and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saunderstown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from another wonderful stay at The Inn at Tanglewood Hall. This was our third visit (my 4th). Andy and Su are wonderful hosts who cater to our every need. The Inn is well appointed and the atmosphere comfortable and welcoming. We have stayed in the York Room and the Cottage Room and found each to be spacious with very comfortable beds. Every breakfast is a delicious delight with plenty of side choices to enhance the meal. It is served in a sunny, cheerful dining room or on the veranda porch, depending on the season. On a previous visit, Andy and Su had suggested the Clay Hill Farm for evening dining - an excellent choice. This time we chose the dinner package offered. Again an excellent choice. The Inn is within walking distance to York Harbor and Long Sands. Area shopping and points of interest are nearby. We highly recommend this B&B. It is a treasure!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Tanglewood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tanglewood Hall

Address: 611 York Street, York Harbor, York, ME 03911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York > York Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in York Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience casual elegance by the sea in an 1880s grand summer cottage estate located in the centuries-old resort of York Harbor on the Southern Maine coast. Nestled amidst woodland gardens and fountains, once a York Historical Decorator Showcase home, and a short stroll to the Cliff Walk, long sandy beaches, and restaurants, Tanglewood Hall offers a soothing peaceful romantic sanctuary just over an hour's drive north of Boston, with Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and Portsmouth nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Inn at Tanglewood Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Tanglewood Hall Hotel York Harbor
Inn At Tanglewood Hall York Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Tanglewood Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.