We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Salt Water Taffy in Maine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goldenrod Restaurant

Goldenrod Restaurant
2 Railroad Ave, PO Box 1140, York Beach, York, ME 03910
207 363 2621
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in York Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
York Beach, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Salt Water Taffy in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We live within walking distance of Goldenrod. It is one of our favorite places to have breakfast (the walnut waffle is great). The taffy is made on site (fun to watch) and many other candy choices too. Short Sands Beach is right next door, plenty of meter parking great for kids.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    68
    35
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“WHAT FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a gem of a place to stop and have a great sandwich and some ice cream. You feel like you are going back to the 1950's with the menu selections. Egg cream? Ice cream soda? all homemade ice cream. Grilled rueben and swiss cheese & ham sandwiches were a welcome change from seafood. Your drinks are presented in an old fashioned glass and ice cream comes in a chrome dish...just like it used to come. In business since 1896, this place will entertain you while you watch as they are making their famous taffy kisses. Reasonable prices. Open for lunch and dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good Candy and Ice Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We shopped here for salt water taffy, which we pick out the kinds we like and do not buy the boxed ones. We also bought several other types of candy, they have chocolates, fudge, etc. All typical for the type of shop. We also got ice cream from here which was very good, but not the best we've had. It is usually kind of busy in there when we go and hard to move around the place to pick things out. I don't know if that is good or bad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Vermont
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“another excellent and affordable family meal at the Goldenrod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

we try to eat at the Goldenrod every time we were in York, and were able to have lunch there at the end of the season this year. The wait staff are always friendly and pleasant and the food good and affordable. It is a great place for breakfast or lunch. NO french fries though, only chips, if that matters to anyone!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, MA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Like going back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family has been taking the trip up to York Maine for over seven years. We always make a point of going to the Goldenrod to watch them make the fresh salt water taffy. One of the other must do things is to head inside for a milkshake at the counter. It is like going back in time to the old fashioned soda shops. Fresh ice cream blended in the metal container, poured into a glass with the leftovers wait for you in the metal container on the bar. It is great family fun and my kids 13, 10 and 5 beg to go back every year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldenrod Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Goldenrod Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldenrod Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.