We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Candy and Ice Cream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldenrod Restaurant

Goldenrod Restaurant
2 Railroad Ave, PO Box 1140, York Beach, York, ME 03910
207 363 2621
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 restaurants in York Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good Candy and Ice Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We shopped here for salt water taffy, which we pick out the kinds we like and do not buy the boxed ones. We also bought several other types of candy, they have chocolates, fudge, etc. All typical for the type of shop. We also got ice cream from here which was very good, but not the best we've had. It is usually kind of busy in there when we go and hard to move around the place to pick things out. I don't know if that is good or bad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    84
    55
    27
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“another excellent and affordable family meal at the Goldenrod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

we try to eat at the Goldenrod every time we were in York, and were able to have lunch there at the end of the season this year. The wait staff are always friendly and pleasant and the food good and affordable. It is a great place for breakfast or lunch. NO french fries though, only chips, if that matters to anyone!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Like going back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family has been taking the trip up to York Maine for over seven years. We always make a point of going to the Goldenrod to watch them make the fresh salt water taffy. One of the other must do things is to head inside for a milkshake at the counter. It is like going back in time to the old fashioned soda shops. Fresh ice cream blended in the metal container, poured into a glass with the leftovers wait for you in the metal container on the bar. It is great family fun and my kids 13, 10 and 5 beg to go back every year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kisses and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our annual trip to Maine and the York Beach area meant a stop at the Goldenrod Restaurant for saltwater candy kisses for family and office and a delicious meal. We arrived about 11am to a busy candy counter but in between breakfast and lunch crowd at the restaurant. I enjoyed a lunch special with soup of the day,(8 bean with ham) while my girlfriend had a selection from the "served all day" breakfast menu. Our waitress was wonderfully attentive and friendly and food was delivered promptly. Kisses, nice meal...missions accomplished

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

They still make the taffy where you can watch from the window outside. There are all sorts of different flavors. They also have other candy, a restaurant and ice cream. Probably the best & freshest saltwater taffy you'll find!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldenrod Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Goldenrod Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldenrod Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.