We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldenrod Restaurant

Goldenrod Restaurant
2 Railroad Ave, PO Box 1140, York Beach, York, ME 03910
207 363 2621
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 restaurants in York Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

They still make the taffy where you can watch from the window outside. There are all sorts of different flavors. They also have other candy, a restaurant and ice cream. Probably the best & freshest saltwater taffy you'll find!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    84
    55
    27
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wynantskill, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

First let me start by saying that watching the taffy being made is a must do however I was not impressed with the food at all. Also for kids not a very lot to choose from. I had a burger and slaw. The burger was like a puck and the slaw had no taste to it...also if you are travling with elderly people of handicapped people they will not be able to use the bathroom which is up at the top of a very steep set of stairs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Goldenrod is a classic. Great food, great staff. Excellent service. The Goldenrod has fantastic homemade ice cream and salt water taffy. Highly recommend it for all!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adana, Turkey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Do not walk, R.U.N. to Goldenrod for their *Kisses*!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've never had kisses (salt water taffy) this good in my life! Having said that, I must admit I've not been to Goldenrod, nor have I eaten a meal there, but the Excellent Rating is what the Kisses deserve.

I'm presently stationed in Turkey and a colleague went to Maine to visit family, brought some Kisses back, and now I'm addicted.

Think I'd fly there myself to get a stash... if only there were military hops to ME!!

[yeah, I make a meal of the Kisses. They're that good. But my guilty conscience dictates now that I get some real food...]!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful things don't change - and shouldn't!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've been going here over 40 years, and I'm so happy to return to this warm and comfortable place summer after summer. Each and every time, that hamburger club is waiting for me, and never disappoints. This is my happy place, somewhere I take my children to, and hopefully someday will return with my grandchildren. Every summer brings some old and some new faces in the wait-staff, people eager to please and attentive. Thanks, Goldenrod, for making me feel forever young.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldenrod Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Goldenrod Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldenrod Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.