We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Short Sands Beach

Short Sands Beach
York Beach, York, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in York Beach
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A family-oriented beach that includes a playground.
Ellsworth, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“gorgeous beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stopped after breakfast for a walk on the beach. So nice. Centrally located to parking, shops and restaurants.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    55
    18
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Perfect for families...spent our 35th wedding anniversary with our kids and grand kids ...had a great time...great beach, stores, restaurants , shops and great park .

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small and pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Beautiful beach, but like it's name it is short. It gets very crowded on the weekends. You can park your car and walk to a variety of restaurants and stores.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Just the right size”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Small cute little beach. Scenic. Park, playground, lots of shops, arcade, candlepin bowling restauraunts, a zoo and amusement park, all with in a 5 minute radius walk. Paid parking with restrooms. This can be a relaxing place, with just the right amount of entertainment/night life to keep the kids happy too. I have been going here since i was a little kid. Now, 35 years later, i am still going with my daughter, and i plan on going 35 years from now too.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Short beach is not as beautiful as the neighboring beaches. The crowd is interesting - a mix of young and old, across different demographics.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Short Sands Beach also viewed

 

Been to Short Sands Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Short Sands Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.