We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a day trip!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Short Sands Beach

Short Sands Beach
York Beach, York, ME
Improve this listing
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A family-oriented beach that includes a playground.
Buffalo
2 reviews
“Great for a day trip!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My family stayed here for four nights and while we had a great time.. I was not a fan of the very small, rocky beach. If you are looking for a BEACH.. long sands is larger but we LOVED Ogunquit which is like 10 mins away. We drove there instead. This little town is great, though.. with touristy shops and restaurants.. and the little amusement park which my kids loved. My husband loved Short Sands but I was a little disappointed and prefer a better beach like Ogunquit.. which was a little more upscale. My kids also loved it there.. which in the end is all that really matters :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    58
    19
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Short Sands with it's amusement house and shopping feels very much like you just stepped back in time. The shops are touristy but the whole place has an old school charm. Love the Goldenrod taffy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Crowded but classic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Better parking than Long Sands Beach and more interesting terrain. Be sure to bring quarters though.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Short and Sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lots of fun to enjoy the little beach and walk all around the shops. If you have little ones the Park is a blast for them!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great little beach with lots to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Short Sands is a cove, so it's typically a little warmer than Long Sands. Parking is plentiful and there are bathrooms and food nearby. If you get tired of the sand, there is a huge playground for the kids, and you're right next to the touristy York Beach main drag for all your nicknacks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Short Sands Beach also viewed

 

Been to Short Sands Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Short Sands Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.